Carte Noire Coffee Review

April 2, 2014 at 7:24 am 6 comments

20140401-151926.jpg
Afternoon. Did someone say coffee?
Occasionally I’m lucky enough to get the chance to review various things. This time I was sent some Carte Noire coffee pods.
You know I’m a compete sucker for packaging.
This is how it came.

20140401-152221.jpg
These cute little pods are to go in the Nespresso machines. For any of you into pampering goods- the packaging has a luxury almost beauty feel

20140401-152509.jpg
These pods are designed for Nespresso type machines. I have a CitiZ one and love the no-mess, super quick delivery system.
So- once I’d stopped oohing and aahing over the packaging and planning how I was going to repurpose the box and ribbon(!!) I got to using the coffee.
Now- a word of warning.
I’m an uneducated coffee drinker.
The tasting notes that came with the packs were really helpful- super helpful in fact.
As I was sipping and wondering- ‘I like that taste but have absolutely no idea what it is’- the notes clued me in.
I have to admit- neat espresso isn’t for me. I tried it- but maybe I’m not cultured enough. However, done as a flat white ( I’m learning!!) the coffee was really delicious. No.3 was my favourite.
My daughter however, is a different kettle of fish ( or should that be beans!).
She has done some barista training and so I volunteered her to try them out and give her more sophisticated view.
Here’s her view of the 4 coffees. (She’s only 17!)
“No3 has a shiny glossy crema and the coffee itself is smooth and delicate. It has dark almost nutty notes.

No5 lighter crema however the shot flowed seamlessly from the machine. Very aromatic.
Bitter cocoa offset with fruity berry note.

No7 much lighter crema. Bold dark pungent aroma. Earthy flavour, almost woody.

No9- much less crema, very strong flavours, dark roasted shown by the much darker crema.

The smell of the coffee is instant as each package is opened however this seems to be diluted after the espresso is made.”
She’s fair, to the point and a much more suitable judge.

Want my review.
Gorgeous sophisticated packaging-you feel like you’re having a treat.
Amazing aroma as the pods come out of the packaging.
No.3 is my favourite. I’d buy this again- as I prefer a less intense coffee.
Make the coffee, shut your eyes and you can easily imagine you’re in a little Italian cafe being serenaded by a guitarist.
…It works for me!
I loved being sent this new coffee to review. I’d recommend you try it ( even if only to enjoy the packaging! 😉
The pods are in boxes of 10 with a RRP of £2.79 which I think is great value –particularly when this coffee made with my machine is so much better than going out to my local ***** (couldn’t really say which coffee shop now could I !).

Go and put your feet up, grab a pod, make a flat white ( or even espresso if you’re really cultured!!) get your favourite book..and relax!

(The crafty bit is courtesy of Hero Arts ‘Need Caffeine’ stamps & Basic Grey Fresh Cut papers.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Penelope’s Blossoms & ‘How Do You Do It’ Unity & docrafts Adventures!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. justtyra  |  April 4, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    the coffee drinker and card maker in me enjoyed this post!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  April 4, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    What a talented daughter … I’m no connoisseur but I do know it tastes better with friends … Love the packaging too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Carole  |  April 4, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    What a great review by the both you, thank you. I love my Nespresso machine and can’t wait to try these alternative pods! I’ll be asking Waitrose to stock them ;)! C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Bev  |  April 5, 2014 at 1:41 am

    Sweet little card! I like espresso drinks, and the aroma of coffee, but find regular coffee to be bitter, as compared to espresso. If I ever win the lottery, I’m building an espresso bar into my kitchen! Lol. Have a great weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. massofhair  |  April 5, 2014 at 3:33 am

    Great review you two! We have a Tassimo, my OH enjoys a good coffee even though he enjoys tea more. Reason we bought the Tassimo is so i can have very weak coffee and can do this using a T Disc which allows the machine to dispense hot water.

    I could, but won’t, tell you more reasons why we decided to get our machine instead of a Nespresso. It wasn’t an easy choice with so many different coffee machines out there lol.

    Lurve the aroma of fresh coffee, something so decadent about being able to indulge that experience, sharing this is one of lifes luxuries and should always be enjoyed.

    More reviews please, great card too:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Virginia Lu  |  April 5, 2014 at 5:18 am

    Love your card! I adore that set of BG paper and I love how you used it! I love the coffee packaging ,too! And these days I am spoiled to use those pod thingy to make my daily coffee.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


