Making A Simple Photo Backdrop & Docrafts Roundup

March 20, 2014 at 12:49 pm 5 comments

20140320-112136.jpg
Good morning!!!
Hope you’re all ok. I’m often getting asked about how to photograph cards and how I do it. I would love a decent camera where I could change the focus and settings but right now, my phone does well enough.
I wanted to make a more stable ‘backdrop’ for my cards & projects. Normally I just prop everything on a window sill and it has a habit of falling off. I’ll use scrapbook papers as the back and they aren’t very stable.
I was in B&Q and saw some amazing wallpapers. I wanted to look for one anyhow but spied a few that would be perfect as a foil for my papercrafting so took a free sample and here’s what I did with it.
20140320-112500.jpg
Using the back of a cheap whiteboard (cost me £1.05!), some double sided tape and the wallpaper ( it’s wider and therefore perfect for this purpose).20140320-112608.jpg
Add some tape all the way around- remove the tape one side at a time and stretch the paper onto the frame. Because it’s wallpaper it also has useful ‘give’ which is great when trying to make it taut.

20140320-112735.jpg
Here’s what my set up looks like- light coming in from the left and I’m the morning, the light is best in that position.
Here’s the photo before I edit it

20140320-112837.jpg
It doesn’t look so great does it? Cropping and adjusting clarity, sharpness, contrast, highlights, shadows and vibrancy really brings the photo to life. I use an app on my phone called Photoshop Express which is a free one.
Here’s a few more of some recent Docrafts makes

20140320-124308.jpg

20140320-124436.jpg
Will leave you to your lunch now- I’m busy doing 3 kiddy collections today. Oh why can’t they all finish at the same time!!

See you soon when I’ve perfected using a new Anna Griffin set – more on that palaver soon!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Mama Elephant & Virginia’s View Upcycled Wooden Bobbin

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monika  |  March 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Keren. Thanks for the little tuto. Will have a look for the app. Love the wallpaper background and the flowery dress is really pretty! Have a great Happy Day! xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  March 20, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    This is how i photograph my cards etc too! I use A4 or A3 card stock and a colour to compliment when i can.

    I have Samsung/Android phone and use Snapseed App to edit images.

    I can’t lift a ‘good camera’ so i use a Lumix which can do amazing macro shots and normal shots too. Then i use a free prog called Photoscape for editing.

    Thanks for the mini tutorial, all your cards are beautiful:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Sue Brannan  |  March 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    What an interesting post Keren (as usual)…nice to hear about other apps for editing photos I find that so difficult to do and have been all round the house at times even to the extent of putting cards in the bath to photograph!!! Must look oht for some wallpaper pieces! Love the little dress x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  March 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

    Lovely creations!! I too picked up some paper sample from B&Q! Must try your tip … TFS

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Virginia L.  |  March 22, 2014 at 5:42 am

    Beautiful cards, Keren! I love the layering and colors on the first one! The details in the 2nd card and dress card are gorgeous! Your photo setup looks awesome! Love the free paper samples. I may have to check out the hardware store again (wink)!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


