Owl Be There For You & Woodland Walks!

February 25, 2014 at 11:53 am 2 comments

owl

 

The title does evoke the Friends theme tune! I’m not singing it for you- I’m sure you know the words already! These cuties needed a place to perch- so I thought a gentle scene ‘wood’ do (hehe!). The stamps are an Itty Bitty set from Unity.

I’ve sponged the background using a cut out cloud & then used that same cloud with the sponged ink on to complete the sky. Easy. This is for my day at Make the Day Special and they’ve new stamps, restocks and a new stamp line ‘Newton’s Nook’ which if you like animal images, you’ll love.

On Friday we all went out for the day (apart from No.2 who had a ton of work to do). The only down side to the walk was that none of us were aware we were going on a walk and certainly didn’t understand it was going to be a muddy woodland one. The day started well with steve cooking us all a breakfast- which helped keep us warm, because it was freezing. I was wearing a denim skirt and high heeled boots.

I was definitely correctly attired for an amble.

So not.

There was a lot of tiptoeing through mud, moans of ‘I’ve got my trainers mucky’ & ‘are we there yet’.

I was pretty chuffed that my boots remained fairly mud free. I got caught on several brambles & narrowly escaped sliding down a steep hill. Well, my boots have NO grip and are pretty high. To the correctly clad dogwalkers that we encountered we must have looked like idiotic townies. Ah well.

We found a strong rope tied to a tree & a short stubby branch tied to it. Steve checked out the strength of it. It appeared to be holding.

With visions of yet another kid falling and cutting themselves, I tried to look on positively.fallFortunately after a lot of swinging & catching and innumerable selfies, we were ready for a drink.photo 1-11

 

Before we could leave the beautiful forest there was just the small matter of removing the mucky footwear. It wasn’t made easier by the fact we were parked in the middle of a giant puddle. After hopping daintily (yeah, right!) over the river (!) I managed to ease myself sideways into the car without getting my boots on the car. I managed to kick them off, narrowly avoiding dropping them into the muddy puddle & gently wiping off the mud with a tissue. The kids had to be balanced on the boot of the car (we have a ledge that opens down), shoes removed and they climbed in through the back or kinda hopped with one shoe still on & then one of us transported the shoe to the back!!

We found a little place that had been recommended to us. The waitress looked around and sure enough, there wasn’t anywhere to seat 6. Honestly, you’d think the average family only had 2 kids (;-)). Instead of asking us if we’d like to wait, it was quite clear they had no intention of seating us. That establishment has now been firmly crossed off our list! The kids were less than impressed with this and Will piped up “I’m glad we’re going, I don’t like the smell’. We were still in the place & his voice was less than quiet. However, we all laughed loudly & ushered the kids out quick!

The day finished with a quick trip to buy one of the older girls some new jeans & stock up on a couple of books.

The moral of the story is ‘plan your footwear to match the activity’. I’ll be asking before the next day out. I’ve only just finished washing 5 pairs of footwear!

See you soon- but in case you think I’ve been slacking- here’s a little photo frame of I project I undertook over the weekend- a bargain at £5 from Sainsburys- and now can house my alcohol ink pens! (& my Promarkers, but first I need to add labels so I can tell what colour they are!)photo-108

You’ll see me soon, but not until I’ve finished hoovering. Our hoover broke & I’ve never been so happy to see a new hoover in all my life (won’t last for long though,I’m no domestic goddess!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Tim Holtz 12 Tags 2014 & Non-grunginess! Get Stamping 7 & Running!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia L.  |  February 25, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    Your long card is DARLING! I love the shading of the cats and clouds! You just know how to work with the details! Love hearing your little muddy outings and your good find for the alcohol markers bin. I would love to go shopping with you…you seem to know what to get and transform it into something awesome!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  February 26, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Terrific card!! Love those owls … And I’m looking forward to seeing that frame … not seen them in our Sainsbury …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


