Tim Holtz 12 Tags 2014 & Non-grunginess!

February 22, 2014 at 5:58 pm 12 comments

20140222-174809.jpg
Yup. Look twice.
I have a confession.
I can’t do grungy.
I will keep trying. I’m trying to add distressed edges and inside I want them to look neat! Ha ha.
There’s really no hope for me.
Here’s the full thing

20140222-174928.jpg
It might look simple- but it took me forevvaah!
I used a ton of Paper Artsy paints. I cracked open their Crackle paint and I’m sold.
I used some chalkboard paint (B&Q- hehe!) as the base, added the crackle and then London Bus ( red) over the top. The shape with the stamping on is a one grungeboard I die cut and added one of the new Lynne Perella stamps- partially stamped.
The playing card is lightly painted in snowflake to subtle-ize it ( like my new word?!) and I’ve painted the grunge paper hearts and added tiny buckles and ribbon.
I haven’t had this much fun learning in ages.
Someday I’ll let my inner messy out. My ‘outer’ messy is regularly out but the inner? Not so much.
Maybe someone could help me to release it. It’s definitely stuck!

I’m also entering this into the Sei challenge here it’s a rustic Valentine challenge and I thought this would perfect too! There’s another 5 days to enter- have a go!

Will tell you about our fun day out next post. It included selfies, rope swings, getting turned away at a pub and general otherness.

Until then! See you when I’ve cleared up my now unbelievably messy craft room. This arty-ness comes with tons of product 😉!!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Lunch Notes Tin & Oops-a-Daisy! Owl Be There For You & Woodland Walks!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia L.  |  February 22, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    Oh…how FUN and GORGELOUS is your non-grungy tag, Keren!! This little gem does look like a work of art! I love how you layered the chalkboard pieces! And I think your “inner messy” is a BEAUTIFUL thing! You make me want to try Tim’s 12 Tags inspiration challenge!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  February 22, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    CAS Grunge is what we have here… Loving your very very cool Tag 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Louise Nicolleau  |  February 22, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    Wahoooo! Super proud of you for doing this,and so glad you had fun doing it 😀
    (I fully expect you to do ALL this years months lol 😉 )

    Lou xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. isisimaginings  |  February 23, 2014 at 8:36 am

    I saw your tag on Twitter last night just before I went to bed, so I was looking forward to seeing it properly this morning. It is GORGEOUS. I love the little hearts & the crackle looks great.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Monika  |  February 23, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Hi Keren. This looks fab. It’s grungy enough for me. Love the subtle-izing. Have a great Sunday! xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  February 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    Fabulous!! I’m not really into too much grunge so your tag is perfect for me … Love the effect the crackle paint gives and hey, you had fun … that’s the best part!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. tsurutadesigns  |  February 23, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    oooohhhh…I had to look twice to see who’s blog I was visiting. It’s a great tag! I love all the details and elements!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Sue Brannan  |  February 23, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    At first glance only another crafter would realise how much effort and detail has been out into this Keren…its lovely if that is the right term for grunge …I have to admit I also find grunge difficult…I wasn’t born to be grungy haha!! Look forward to hearing about yr day out x

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. christinasrainbow  |  February 25, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Hi Karen. I love the layering on your tag! Great job 🙂
    Christina
    thanks for leaving a comment on my blog.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Paula McLane Jennings  |  February 28, 2014 at 4:20 am

    Your tag is adorable and I so relate to the ‘can’t do grundgy’ The closest I come is inking all my edges with Distress inks. Occasionally I would distress the edges but I haven’t been doing that lately at all.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Tyra Babington  |  March 2, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Gasp! Love the stitches! It was the first thing I noticed 🙂 And I love how everything comes together, including the movement of the embellishments from left to right! Thanks for playing along with SEI

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. rainbowfingeredcrafter  |  April 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    It looks great! It’s amazing you have any time with 5 (or is it 6?) children!! 🙂 It’s great to see work from someone else in the UK.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,447 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


