Stamping on Mugs!

February 11, 2014 at 11:23 am 10 comments

 

Morning! Happy Tuesday!

I’ve entitled the blog post Stamping on Mugs- and by that I wasn’t implying you should crush someone idiotic! Stamping on a different surface and using this lovely CAS-ual Fridays set

http://www.makethedayspecial.co.uk/shop.php#!/~/product/category=8451112&id=33407835

Now- the tag is fairly straightforward- I’ve hacked away (or trimmed!) at these lovely dies

http://www.makethedayspecial.co.uk/shop.php#!/~/product/category=6943559&id=29539185

If you look closely- I’ve just trimmed away the outer 4 ‘petals’ to leave the smaller shape

The stamping on the cup? A little more tricky- I thought I’d show you quickly….

Stazon inks are crucial- anything else simply won’t dry on the surface. You can create this look using any of the Stazon colours and certainly any crockery.

1.First, clean it – really well- grease and fluff will stop the ink transferring and drying.

2. Use a block or if you prefer, use the stamp unmounted. Clear stamps make it easy to see exact placement.

Before you start getting twitchy about using Stazon on your clear stamps; here’s the info. The ingredient which will damage the stamps evaporates off so quickly that you’re unlikely to do any damage. Ironically, it’s the cleaner that will do more damage.

The Stazon cleaner is a MUST. Unless you’re lucky and manage to stamp perfectly first time- you’ll end up needing to remove the image (or partial image in my case 😉 ). It’s really important that you DON’T leave the Stazon cleaner soaking on your photopolymer stamps. This is the stuff that will cause damage. If you’re using red rubber stamps- it’s not an issue at all. Just make sure you wipe the cleaner off pretty quickly and wipe the stamp with kitchen towel or a wipe to make sure it’s not remaining on the stamp.

3. It works (unless your item is super flat) by rocking from left to right/up and down. Ordinarily you wouldn’t want to stamp this way, but for stamping on ceramics, it helps disperse the ink evenly. Just try and keep a steady hand whilst you’re doing it (or wipe off with cleaner and begin again!!).

4. The beauty of Stazon is that you can heat set it on crockery. Granted, you need to make sure that your dish/mug is oven safe- but about 350F for about 30 minutes should ensure its wash safe (& most likely dishwasher proof- although I need to wash it a few more times to give that guarantee).

It’s a fun way of getting stampy on a different surface and is great to pepping up plain mugs. I decided to stamp the back of mine too.

 

Hope you’ve enjoyed something a little different- go and get stamping! These stamps are in the Make The Day Special Store

I’m also linking this to the CAS-ual Friday’s stamps ‘blue challenge’

I’m not going to tell you any stories today..I think the post has been quite long enough. Just to say that the cool mug is from Matalan & at £2.50 is pretty good for a designer looking container for your non-designer brews!

See you when I’ve finished waiting in for the loft insulation guys. I can just feel a story coming on! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Craft Room tidy & #Docraftsmonday JOFY 2014 Stamps Launch

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele Gross  |  February 11, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Get OUT! That is insanely awesome!! I am sooooo going to do this 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing this super cool idea with us at CAS-ual Fridays Stamps!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  February 11, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    Wow! Now that’s definitely on my list … I love that tag too … you are so good as fussy cutting …

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  February 11, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    You CLEVER COOKIE, Keren!! I love the stamped image look on mug! You topped it off with that gorgeous tag, too! (not too shabby–LOL)!! Brilliant indeed! So glad that you join the fun with us at CAS-ual Fridays Stamps!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Julia Aston  |  February 12, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    What a great project! a fun matching tag and mug – thanks for showing us how to!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Heather North  |  February 13, 2014 at 9:59 pm

    You are incredibly creative using this stamp on a mug and cutting the die cut to make a completely different shape. I found you on the blue challenge, and now I’m going to check out the rest of your blog to see what your imagination cooks up. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Angie Tieman  |  February 17, 2014 at 12:56 am

    Wow! Your mug and tag are awesome!! Thanks for sharing how to do it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Patent Lawyer  |  March 12, 2014 at 9:48 am

    What a cute idea! Love what you’ve done with that mug!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl Elster  |  December 3, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    Hi there! I realize this is an older post, but I found it when researching how to use Stazon on ceramic. Your post is very helpful, and I love your cute project. I am wondering how it has held up over time and whether you have hand-washed it or cleaned it in the dishwasher. If you are able to let me know, I would appreciate it. I want to do some mugs as gifts, so I’d like to be sure they’ll last.

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. kerenbaker  |  December 3, 2016 at 3:51 pm

      Hi Cheryl! Thanks for your comment. The Stazon Ink makes the mug more decorative than functional. The only solution ( that I didn’t get around to trying so I’d definitely test it first) is to bake the mugs 350 for 20- 30mins. That should help them. I’m sorry I never got chance to finish off the whole experiment but I’d love to know if you bake them how they fare afterwards! Hugs x

      Like

      Reply
  • 10. Cheryl Elster  |  December 9, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    Thanks for your reply. I baked mine, and so far so good. I’ve washed it in the dishwasher 3 or 4 times so far with no change. Here’s hoping that it continues to hold up 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


