More Valentines & Ageism

February 8, 2014 at 9:41 pm 3 comments

20140208-212333.jpg
Hi!
I have an unusual Valentine today. In the search for non-soppy and non-cute I’ve created this one. It’s using Docrafts Madame Peyraud collection. It’s a little image on a collage type patterned paper so I just gave Cupid a little colour and some watercoloured clouds. Here he is…

20140208-212540.jpg
Today I’ve been to Wilmslow- demoing to not tons of people- the weather has been so bad. Driving there was a white knuckle ride ( or at least that was the state of my knuckles as I tried to keep the car from being blown too much with the fierce winds) .
At the demo- apart from the lovely girls who came- was a lady who came for a nose.
She asked what we were doing and even though she doesn’t really craft, she stopped to chat.
I would have put her in her mid 70s- pretty trendy, immaculately turned out and she said she loved driving and doesn’t bother to cook anymore.
She explained her husband had died 25 years ago and now she does exactly what she wants and goes where she wants to go.
She didn’t sound cheeky- she said it all with a big twinkle in her eye.

She then told us just how old she was.
92.
Ninety what?
I thought I’d misheard.
Ninety plus two.

She was THAT old.
A livelier person hadn’t been in the shop all day.
We finished the conversation, she grinned and she STRODE off. Her posture was amazing -we simply could not believe it.
There was a stunned hush.
Honestly.
We all ( at the demo), turned our heads and watched her leave..in total silence.
There went an elegant and inspiring woman.
No hint of moaning nor negativity.
Just a breath of fresh air.
We agreed we’d just met someone pretty special.
In fact- if I get to 70 and look like her I’d be chuffed.

I love demoing.
You meet the best people.
She had no idea just how beautiful and inspiring she was.

Such a great encounter.
I often imagine old age with a massive dose of dread.
She’s righted the balance.
Maybe it’s about perspective.
Maybe it’s genes.
I’m going to find out one day!

See you when I’ve ditched my anti-ageing cream! 😉 xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Fancy Dress Deer & Make The Day Special! Craft Room tidy & #Docraftsmonday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue Brannan  |  February 8, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    What inspiration …to age so gracefully and naughtily and a cute cupid to inspire too, lovely blog and card Keren x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  February 9, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    What a great post…not only for your gorgeous card…love it but for your encounter with a lovely woman, that probably didn’t even know how lovely she is and what kind of impact she made with you all…now that is a wonderful individual.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Bev  |  February 9, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    Love that you’ve gone out-of-the-box on this Valentine! Wonderful design, and love that blue peeking out from your focal point. Thought you’d like to know that my “church boyfriend” will be 91 this June. He always looks dapper on Sundays and still lives on his own. I get at least one smooch every week from him! Have a great week. Bev

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


