Madame Peyroud & Stepping Up!

February 2, 2014 at 5:13 am 8 comments

20140202-045326.jpg
Hi! Wow what a week.
It ended yesterday with a change in style and a day long demo at Hawarden ( Wales for the non Uk’ers amongst us!).
Docrafts have brought out a collection called Madame Peyroud & I’d done a few CAS cards with it until now.
I decided I needed to demo differently with it, channeled my inner Tim Holtz ( ha ha, as if!!) and set to.
There’s only the barest smidgeon of white, and, much as it pained me, I even showed them how to distress edges and add colour to pieces to ‘age’ them.
The result. I enjoyed my bare bones visit to ‘distressed-land’. Whilst I didn’t really go all out, it’s baby steps. Right?!
The collection is beautiful, you just needed to give it a little respect. The butterflies ( part of the paper design) are so real looking and I’ll show you another version soon.

Ever want to wish a week away?
Well last week consisted of the following (& trust me, this is by no means exhaustive!!)

Play dates ( sadly, not for me)
3 smashed bowls (in one go- and not intentional, and not by me)
One child stepping ‘muck’ the whole way through the house.
The next morning taking 15 minutes to clean the shoe with a toothbrush & boiling water.
As an aside- why DO they make shoes with such deep ridges? Us Mommas do NOT enjoy trying to clean them out.
Yeuch.
Groans, moans, tears & tantrums
( quite possibly from all of us)
Broken Freezer.

BUT…
On the plus side.
Some kids stepped up. Big time.
Some of them wouldn’t want me to tell you. ( they’re publicity adverse! Ha ha).
My littlies discovered their softer side.
I was feeling rough and littler walked in.
“Mum, you know how Dad is away, and you’re not well. Well, if you’re not feeling well in the night, I’ll come and sleep next to you and look after you.
Because Dad isn’t here.”
Umm.
Melt!
Not wanting to be left out (& to be fair, the littler had just whispered it and I’m not sure how much littliest had heard)
He wandered over and hugged me.
“Mum, I’ll look after you, you’re not well. I’ll cuddle you in the night”
That was too much.
I sat and looked at these two little man-boys and thanked God for them.
He was good as his word.
Littler woke himself up ( or possibly through my coughing!!), climbed in next to me and told me I’d be ok.

I slept really well that night!
One of those lovely lovely moments that made the long week seem suddenly more worthwhile!

Righto, have things to get on with.
(Including eating a large amount of icecream that was melted as a result of the freezer failure. Actually I’ll leave the melted icecream. Even I’m not that desperate!)
Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Starry Constellation Card Rejects & Too Cool

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. isisimaginings  |  February 2, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Oh dear, what a week. I hope you’re feeling much better (I’ve been suffering since Thursday, so I understand) & have a much better time this week. That is a gorgeous card, looks like a very nice collection too. I order you to travel further into ‘Distressed-land’, I promise you’ll love it!! 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Louise Nicolleau  |  February 2, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Oh Keren! I am so peyroud of you for tapping your inner Tim…does this mean you will be joining me on the 12 tags of 2014..? 😉 gorgeous card,as always. I’m going to have to check out this new line,it sounds yum!
    Hope your cough gets scared away by your gorgeous fierce protective man-boys very soon
    Lou xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  February 2, 2014 at 11:56 am

      Lou you are funny!! Thanks for the smile. I’m still a bit of an impostor really but I might just check it out. Although that means Tim H stamps doesn’t it. 😉. Naughty!!! x

      Like

      Reply
      • 4. Louise Nicolleau  |  February 2, 2014 at 12:12 pm

        Mwahahaha! (Evil TH enabling laugh there 😉 ) I can lend you a few…but no,you don’t need them. You will like this February’s one-it’s chalkboard 😀 he likes it when you have to improvise with what you have. There,see? No excuses! Come to the dark inky side-we have cookies 😉 xx

        Like

  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  February 2, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    okay, my eyes are all welled up…sweetest kids every 🙂

    I see you have channeled your inner Tim, this card is gorgeous. Love the cluster of butterflies…very pretty!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  February 2, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    You made this?? This is not a Keren card … Whoo! whoo! you embraced change … and succeeded in a BIG way. Not that I don’t adore… ADORE … your usual style … but I find that over here (UK) not many ‘get’ this look … or the shabby style … So we need people like you put it “out there” … says me who also seems to have changed style … Seriously you did a great job and those papers look really nice … Oh, and I too broke my freezer this week … had to save my hubby’s life when he choked … still playing nurse to him and giving him little trips out …
    Your little ones are so sweet … I have fond memories of mine being the same way …
    Have a good week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Sue Brannan  |  February 2, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Dont know Ros but she took the words out of my mouth ….This is so not a Keren card….however its a lovely card and quite different. Hope you feel better soon x

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Virginia Lu  |  February 3, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    You can do them all! This may not be your usual style, but you sure make it look like that kinds you make regularly! I love the white-ish look and distressed edges! I love how you positioned the elements! Kids say the cutest things… I am glad that your little one made you feel all better ! Hope your week is off to a great start.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


