Flourishes Butterfly & Sauce!

January 21, 2014 at 4:53 pm 3 comments

20140121-155712.jpg
Afternoon! This week over at Make The Day Special the design team is focussing on Flourishes stamps. I didn’t own anything by them up until recently and they are quite a classic stamp manufacturer. This set is called Butterfly Moments

20140121-160008.jpg
The shadow behind the butterfly isn’t too much light in my photo- it’s a grey Promarker (Arctic Blue) used to mimic a shadow. A great idea if you’re sending one layer cards. There’s 25% off all Flourishes stamps at the store so it’s worth having a look.

In my pursuit of honesty, I thought you’d like to hear how I managed to make a hash of even the simplest task today. In the words of my littliest- it was truly ‘lame’!
I was in process of cooking a family favourite ( Sweet and Sour meatballs) that my mum used to make for us when we were at home. You make the meatballs and then create the sauce separately. I was doubling up the quantity which meant it was rather a lot of sauce.
I’d prepared the sauce in a large bowl and for ease of transporting the meal decided not to add the sauce to the meatballs, but let it be added later. Sauce in an unconfined container tends to leak. Don’t ask me how I know about that either 😉!
I had one of those pour and store bags which is a zip lock type bag with a specially designed gusset that allows the bag to stand alone whilst you pour your sauce/soup into it.
I thought that I’d avoid further spills by adding a funnel to the bag so I didn’t spill sauce over the edge of the bag.
Clever idea.

Hmm. Well no.
You can tell what’s coming next can’t you.
To be fair, it’s a very wide bowl but I thought by pouring slowly, I’d avoid mishap.
Wrong
Wrong
So very wrong.
My pouring technique was not the issue.
Nor indeed was the funnel.
I’d nearly finished pouring the liquid into the bag when the supposedly stable bag bucked the trend and threw itself down.
Not down to the side.
Not even down towards the wall, but directly in front of me.
Over the worktop, down the edges of the cabinet, pouring onto the floor, my skirt and shoes.
There is a sense for a few seconds where you just stand gazing rather nonsensically at the avalanche of sweet and sour sauce before your brain kicks in and you rush for a cloth.
A lot of sauce when down the plug hole. So did my happy smile.
After a good while cleaning the sauce out of crack and crevice on our units.
( why oh why didn’t we buy straight flush door fronts?).
I cleaned up as best as I could before I rushed off to school. I went on the school run with a unusual wet triangle on the front of my skirt.

Once back I walked into the kitchen.
There was a distinctive sticky sound as my shoes met contact with the tiled floor rather longer than they should have.
I have a tacky floor to contend with too.
Next time, I’ll just make fishfingers, wedges and beans. Can’t go too wrong there can I?!!

See you when I’ve employed a maid to clean up after me!
( you could be waiting a significant time then!)
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Card on the Hop & Staying on The Chair! Clustering and a New Look!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia Lu  |  January 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    You have showcased this Flourish stamp FABULOUSLY! I love the shade of green and blue together! And I am sorry about the epic fail on the funnel when you poured out the sauce (why oh why this happen to all of us, especially my kids!!?)! I hope the stickiness is all gone by now as I type 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ~amy~  |  January 22, 2014 at 2:29 am

    Oh no…..stickiness…..but your card is super lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  January 22, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Beautiful card!! Love the butterfly … Oh my, I can even picture that sauce spilling … poor you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


