Card on the Hop & Staying on The Chair!

January 18, 2014 at 8:18 pm 4 comments

20140118-190809.jpg
Hola! I’m back from a day demoing at Lady Green and it was great fun. There were a bunch of ladies who saw me last week & it was great to see them but I can’t just do the same projects as I’d prepared the previous week-so I had created a couple extra but in the afternoon I decided to make the typewriter alphabet set onto a contemporary card & thought I’d create something on the hop. This doesn’t always succeed- just like demoing itself.
I’d just finished a disastrous demo with some embossing powder and could I get the ink to stick to the stamp enough to allow embossing powder to adhere to the stamped image. After 3 attempts, including a change of ink and embossing powder- one lady asked if it was a new stamp. Normally I don’t ‘season’ the stamps- but I simply rubbed an eraser over the red rubber and voila- it worked. I’d have used Sellotape but didn’t have any.
At times like that, you have to laugh, keep persevering and admit you don’t get it right all the time either.
Then I made this card up on the go. I did have help from one of the ladies who kept me on track with which typewriter key went next!! There was lots of shuffling of elements around until I was happy with the design.
Nothing like pressure when you’ve lots of people sitting there watching!

These are two alpha sets from Docrafts and they work perfectly with the punches. The die set is ‘Slimline’ from X-Cut and is just a great contemporary font.

I’m having a rest tonight- sitting in one chair and not falling off it like I did twice last week at the previous demo!!! I do plenty of up and downing- as most of the products are positioned strategically around the floor of the table, I have to duck down a lot. Sometimes you have to reach as there may not be room to get up and shift about. So as you reached, I overreached. The chair toppled and so did I.
I fell in such a cool way, no one noticed.
Not.
How do you fall gracefully?
I didn’t the first time and not did I the second.
Thankfully I learned not to overreach before I repeated it a third time.
I wobbled but remained upright. That’s why I’m sitting very still tonight!

Wish me luck as I’m redoing some scrap pages this weekend that are just bleurggh. Ever tried to redo bleurggh stuff?
See you when hopefully I’ve had more inspiration x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

In a Rut & DIY Lightboxes! Flourishes Butterfly & Sauce!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pinnednpenned  |  January 18, 2014 at 11:35 pm

    Oh, Keren, I am sorry– but I am laughing so hard at your post!! Thank you for being so unabashed and self-deprecating about the demo!! Nothing really more refreshing (people here in Seattle sorely lack self-deprecating most of the time–nothing better than to laugh at yourself, brush it off & get on! Ahh, well I am from NY anyway!!). And does this sound horrible (??)–if I, or anyone else, falls down, slips, tumbles out of a chair, it just makes me break into hysterics–probably because I have such BAD coordination and trip or run into things nearly every day.
    Anyway, I love the card. A great result at a small price!!! XO

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  January 18, 2014 at 11:48 pm

    It would be SO fun to see your doing the demo….I am sure you were as cool as a cucumber despite all the unforeseen mishaps. That’s why I think it’s fun/thrilling to see/do demos (not so much for you this time, obviously) because it is a “live performance” and no re-take! Love your card–each element is at its own perfect spot!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  January 19, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Love this card … Once again a unique and clever design … Have a great day without any mishaps!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. isisimaginings  |  January 19, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Fantastic card! Hope you’re not too bruised after your chair misadventures. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,487 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


