Men’s Get Well Card & Seasonal Casualties

December 30, 2013 at 9:43 pm 2 comments

20131230-213331.jpg

It’s nearly the end of 2013!
Was it one you loved, or a year you’d rather forget and quickly usher in the new?
It’s been a mixed year for me- although talking about crafty stuff, it’s seen me pushed way out of my comfort zone and for that I’m thankful.
Next year is going to see lots more of the same. I’ve spent most of the past few days doing commissions and am really looking forward to getting to grips with the latest Docrafts collections which are seriously lovely.

True to form, I’ve had several failures. The first was on Christmas Eve- whilst making a trifle. I have a glass looking plastic trifle bowl. A trifle bucket might be more correct but as I was super catering, I decided to use it. There were a few cracks in the plastic, thanks to a couple of dishwasher sessions and once I’d poured in the jelly over the fruit and sponge, I left it whilst prepping other things.
I looked around a few mins later to find jelly seeping from the bottom of the trifle. I realised that the trifle was indeed a trifle broken. I placed a tea towel underneath and watched the seepage. There are few good reasons for having a cold kitchen – but then I discovered that setting jelly quickly is definitely one of them. Due to our fridge being full of turkey, the weeping trifle had no room ( sounding a bit nativityesque!).
One teatowel change later the trifle bowl dam held. Trifle tasted fine. Sadly the bowl is now a seasonal casualty!

Other ‘disasters’ have included the sticky toffee pudding sauce that decided to disappear completely into the pudding and not forgetting the Christmas Day gravy which turned out great but sadly was not in enough quantity. Desperate times and all that… I simply made up some instant gravy super quick, added the nice to the instant and made a ‘half-nice’ gravy that no one seemed any the wiser about.
I shall be eating significantly more of what is on my card than the Christmas fripperies we’ve recently been indulging in. I’m looking forward to fresher tastes & fresh air. The baking can be on hold for special occasions –

There’ll be one last ‘party’ tomorrow night and the end of the indulging methinks. Good job we can still enjoy lots of craftiness!!

See you after I’ve made some family friendly party games. Tomorrow’s sure to be fun! x

20131230-214245.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Let It Snow & Breakages ! Happy New Year!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  December 31, 2013 at 11:43 am

    What a fab card this is … I love the dimensional apple … And that trifle looks delicious regardless! I hope you have a wonderful New Year and that 2014 brings you every happiness xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ~amy~  |  December 31, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    chuckling at your blog title…always love popping over. awesome card, fab dimension!

    Happy New Years!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


