Chalkboard Tags & More Mistakes!

December 17, 2013 at 2:17 pm 4 comments

tag

 

Well Hello!

I know, I’m utterly late & last minute & if you were expecting a card from me- I may have to make New Year ones instead. I’ve actually made them, they’re in a cute pile. The moment I sit down to write them- something happens.

Like another littlie is sick, or the door rings & I need to take in the 10th parcel this week!

Anyhow- back to the project. I still LOVE chalkboard. I don’t know what it is? A reminder of history? The contrast of colour and texture? Whatever the reason, I still think it’s a popular trendy look (& so, for that matter does McDonalds with some recent advertising!)

I didn’t even emboss, add shadows or anything, just stamped, smudged, filled in a couple of details with white gel pen & that’s it. Done. Easy.

I just now need to make a whole ton of these for teacher gifts. Except the gifts need to be in tomorrow.

Looks like that’s not happening then either!

I’m trying to keep a sense of perspective about Christmas. It is truly such a brilliant celebration. There is a tendency to get ‘lost in the tinsel’ and I’m trying to avoid that. Having extra kiddo Birthdays just adds to the mania.

It was kiddo no.4’s Birthday last week. He always seems to have a rushed Birthday. So near Christmas.

Once the flurry of opening presents was done, he was reading through all the cards.

I could see him studiously reading ours.

There was a silence.

You could hear the cogs turning.

‘Mum?’ He seemed pretty confused.

“Why did you wish me the loneliest Birthday?”
I thought for a moment and realised pretty quick.
“Loveliest. Son. Loveliest”.
Handwriting fail!

My daughter read it and said EXACTLY the same thing. She was more incensed than the littler guy who seemed genuinely hurt!
Thankfully that’s all smoothed over and I’m going to make more an effort to be legible in my card writing.
So if you receive anything from me ( hmm..chance would be a fine thing right now), don’t take anything insulting or rude as fact without examining the writing for clarification!

See you soon-
I promise- next post will have the pony prize- just need to randomly pick the winner!

Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Super Quick Non Christmas Christmas Card! Get Stamping 6 & Pony Winner!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia Lu  |  December 17, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Love how you layered the tag with chalkboard effect! That reindeer is perfect with that backdrop!! I had to laugh at your handwriting…too funny!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  December 17, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Love it. Good Luck with the pressies! XXX

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  December 18, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    Haha! Poor you! Kids pick up on everything don’t they … I just hope you haven’t damaged him for life … (Lol) I sometimes click ‘publish’ on comments and realise I’ve mis-spelt things … too late!
    LOVE your tag … I really love that chalkboard and the cute deer is beautifully coloured

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. ~amy~  |  December 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    oh no…..chuckling on the inside of your boys birthday card! It is a shame that with all the holiday festivities we try to do too much and then the festivities are lost in the process.

    I once gave a birthday card to my friends daughter, watched her open it up and she was real quiet, which is so unlike her. I said, “I forgot to write in the card, didn’t I?”…yup. I gave her a blank card.

    anywho’s I love your chalkboard tag!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


