Scrapbooking & Arm Knitting!

December 10, 2013 at 11:56 am 5 comments

photo-97

Morning (or is it nearly lunch?)

Thought I’d post a Layout for a change. This and one other are in the latest Scrapbook Magazine & this was a LO created from the theme’ To My Delight’.  The title immediately made me think of Angel Delight & I quickly decided that Butterscotch Angel Delight was possibly a) not the most photogenic and b) not so interesting, so I plumped for a cute picture of Will instead! Thread and sewing seems to feature more and more in my projects. I love the textural element it brings. It was fun making it with some Bella Blvd products… and no stamping. Imagine that!

I’m busy creating projects and trying to slot in Christmas present buying and making. I am one for spur of the moment decisions. I found this brilliant You Tube video on how to arm knit an eternity scarf. I literally ran to my local Abakhan store to purchase wool. After a considerable amount of stopping, pausing & rewinding, I cracked it. If I can find a willing model- I’ll get a picture taken for you. Once you’ve done one, I did the next one in about 30 minutes! Result.  If you know me, and normally get a pressie from me at Christmas..ten guesses what you might be receiving!

In the midst of the initial struggle (& amidst a very tangled piece of yarn), the doorbell rang. Unlike normal needles, you cannot just put your arms down and attend to whatever is pressing. I bundled up the semi made scarf and two largish balls of slightly tangled wool & shuffled to the door.

The postman looked at me. I was trying to be gracious and smile. He wanted to give me a parcel for next door. I seem to be the local parcel girl.

‘Umm. can you take this parcel in?’

I looked slightly aghast. The request was both a literal and theoretical one. I sort of nodded to the theoretical part and looked quizzically at him as per the practical nature of me actually holding a parcel when my arms were decorated with copious strands of bright purple yarn. He paused again.  I realised I was going to have to spell this one out.

What I wanted to say was ‘Sir, if you look carefully at me, I am physically attached to two large balls of wool. I am physically unable to undo 20 rows of arm knitting in order to pick up next doors parcel,  I have been gazing intently at a YouTube video for the past hour to learn how to make a chunky eternity scarf & there is no way I’m removing this scrappy effort from my extremities, but certainly if you want to walk into my hall and lay the said package on the floor, then I’ll certainly take it in for my lovely neighbours.”

What I did reply with was’ Umm.. I can’t really hold it right now, would you like to put in here on the floor for me?’

He shuffled past the crazy purple bedecked lady & made a sharp exit. Could he not see that I was arm knitting? Goodness.. it’s not like he’s ever seen anyone arm knitting in public before 😉

I have found uses for the discipline already.

Tea is very hard to coordinate when attached to pink and white striated wool. My eldest two HAD to help me out. I’m thinking of arm knitting a LOT!

Well, more scarves to knit and more Post Men to perplex!

See you when I’ve yarn bombed my front hedge!- oh and PS, I’ll post the winner of the hidden pony next time! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Hanging Happy Birthday! & Demoing. Super Quick Non Christmas Christmas Card!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~amy~  |  December 10, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    a layout! awesome, and so very cute!
    knitting…I can’t wait to see what they look like!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Shirley-bee  |  December 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    What a sweetie! And the arm knitting looks amazing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Carole  |  December 11, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Very cute layout, another fab story and a new technique to try out….not sure why I bother even looking at other blogs ;)! C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia Lu  |  December 11, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    You and your post delight me 🙂 I adore this layout and darling photo! I do love it when you used sewing details for your card making! You can do them all!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  December 15, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Love your LO … he’s gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


