You’re a Joy! & Broken Boots!

November 7, 2013 at 11:43 am 7 comments

20131107-114252.jpgHello everyone! Thanks so much for all of your comments recently- they are all really lovely to get.

This is a super simple card- using a set from a new company that you’ll be hearing a lot about in the near future. It’s one of those cards that remind me of lots of people. Some people are just complete ‘joys’ aren’t they! One of those is Cath Edvalson. This card is for her. She’s one of those lovely person that sprinkles sunshine wherever she goes. I know that tons of people hold her in really high regard & she is stepping down from being the mastermind & contributor at Moxie Fab World . We know she’ll be planning a new and exciting future & so I simply had to post and say THANKS! One day, if I ever get to visit the US, and had a wish list of places to go and people to see- she’d be on that list somewhere right at the top!

Some of my most exciting challenges (wins or not) have been over at Moxie Fab World. Cath would post unique challenges that made you think & get really creative. Some of my fave cards have come as a result of entering her challenges. I loved being part of last years ‘Trendy Card’ list & I can tell you, if Cath visits your blog & leaves you a comment..well, your day is totally made! She posted daily a inspiring picture which often left you thinking about colour or design or just how beautiful nature is. She will be so missed – she’s irreplaceable!

If any of you have missed this link up- there’s one over at MFW- you could join in too and leave her your best wishes and thanks.

This week has seen me prepping for an all day workshop. I do love teaching- I could do it happily all day. Prepping is less fun- but I’m nearly sorted! We have had a few hiccups this week- let me tell you about one!

I play taxi a considerable amount of the time. I’d picked up 2 kids, went elsewhere to pick up 2 more & was waiting half an hour before picking up the last one. We popped to Tesco to pick up some bits ready for Bonfire night. As we’d loaded the shopping, one of the kids was messing around. They couldn’t close the boot on account of being too diddy, so I asked an older child. This child didn’t take too well to being asked.

They went to back of the car & instead of pulling the door down (it’s a hatchback type), they grabbed the rods that allow the door to open and close. They obviously did this with some force & then whacked the boot down.

There was a crunch noise.

Not a good sort of ‘crunch’. It was in fact the sound of metal bending. Not realising what they’d done, they decided to give it a second go, further damaging the car. I was out of the front seat in a hurry but the second bending had already occurred. Granted, I didn’t know this is what had happened until I looked into the boot.

The boot was not going to shut. Nor could I  drive home with an unstable boot in the wind. I knew that if I let it drop down any further, it would bend the metal further & possibly break it. So I had good (?) idea no.1…I balanced the boot on my head & phoned my hubby.

‘Hi Steve, I have a slight problem”

“go on” he said, sounding unphased

“One of the kids has broken the boot & I’m balancing it on my head’

“Pardon? You’re balancing the boot on your head?”

“Yes, I thought it the best thing to do”.

I could hear him explaining the ridiculous situation to his colleagues. “Hang on, can’t you manage?”

Well I couldn’t, I don’t have any tools in the car. I will be getting some shortly. He arranged to come & I waited, in the cold & now with the light fading, watching the shoppers in Tesco come in and out.

After 5 minutes the boot was hurting my head. Daughter no.1 came to my rescue- fortunately we’re about the same height. Two of us stood, like complete numpties balancing a boot on our heads.

Did anyone stop? Did anyone check we were ok?

No. Not a sausage!

Our friends who visited that evening for Bonfire Night, remarked it was little wonder that no-one stopped- we must have looked a little odd.

After a while, it hurt too much. I took the rash decision to rest it on one shoulder. When the cold & weight got too much, I simply shifted it onto the other shoulder. There I stood, for at least 15 minutes. The other daughter (who I was supposed to have picked up by now) wasn’t responding to my phonecalls. Then my phone died. The end of the story was seeing a very bedraggled daughter make her way crossly up the hill joined also by my husband who removed the strut (after trying to return it to the original shape) & closed the boot.

The offending child became public enemy No.1 to the other siblings who were freezing and less than patient at that point.

Needless to say, my shoulders are a little stiff. If you ever see someone in that predicament- do say hello, or help them; they’ll be very thankful! All ended well, we enjoyed some fantastic fireworks, bacon butties & gingerbread cake washed down with some hot chocolate. The perfect end to an otherwise imperfect day!

See you on Saturday for a very exciting post- you won’t want to miss this one!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Review of the X-Cut XPress! Moxie Fab Thanks Blog Hop

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  November 7, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    Such a lovely card for a lovely lady …
    I’m trying to picture you with the boot on your head lol! …. No I know it’s not funny but I do wonder how you manage to get yourself in so many predicaments … who said having kids was going to be easy?? Not me!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Bev  |  November 7, 2013 at 10:30 pm

    Perfect card for Cath. She’ll love it for sure. The pink is perfect. Btw, who made those stamps–love that font. So sorry about your car… and shame on those people who should have stopped and didn’t. They could have at least asked if you needed help! In a few weeks or months, this will be one of those funny family stories… Hope your boot gets properly fixed soon. : )

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. jenny Martin  |  November 8, 2013 at 6:50 am

    Love the card and the sentiment for Cath! I promise I will offer help if I ever see anyone in the predicament! i don’t know how you do it – I only have 2 kids and I find that exhausting!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  November 8, 2013 at 6:51 am

      Ha ha! As you can tell from some of my posts- I don’t always do 5 very well Jenny! Thanks for your lovely comment!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. auntie em  |  November 9, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Your card is so sweet and pretty. A lovely sentiment for Cath. We will certainly miss her inspiration and encouragement.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. auntie em  |  November 9, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      PS, love your car boot story and I can so relate! DH is a mechanic and I have driven so many vehicles which have broken down on the side of the road. {{{hugs}}} to you!

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. Cath  |  November 11, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Oh my goodness, Keren! Thank you so much for this lovely card! I just adore it! And thank you also for your kind words about me and the Moxie Fab World. I can’t believe that something I created has come to mean so much to so many. And you, my friend, have been an inspiration to me from the very beginning. You have a wonderfully unique way of approaching paper crafting, and I am dazzled every single time I am lucky enough to come across one of your creations. Hugs and loves to you, my moxie fab friend! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


