Boys Thankyou Card & Disappearing!

October 19, 2013 at 9:24 am 3 comments

20131019-085949.jpg
Hullo!! Saturday- and I’m not working .
Ya-massive-wahoo!
I was promised a lie-in but my children were obviously uninformed about that decision and I’ve been hiding in the bathroom since about 8:30!
The card is somewhat random- but is an example of a simple card that I needed to make from one of my boys to say thankyou.
It’s using a Hero Arts alphabet and I love the modern font. Added to the black ( obviously supposed to be space themed- which was the idea behind the club) it was a quick and easy card. I used up oddments of cardstock lying around because stripes are a sure fire winner on blokey cards and I had bought some badges a while back which I used as the embellishment. Embarrassingly simple.
But aren’t the simple ones such a relief!
Don’t you find yourself sometimes poring over one card. You spend forever and it still isn’t quite right? Or is that just me!

This week I’ve been disappearing under clothes. Not because I’ve lost weight ( chance would be a fine thing), nor have I been wearing my husbands jumper. Instead I have been boldly going into my teen and Tweens bedroom.
I rarely make that mistake often. Life is far too short to fight about messy bedrooms. We occasionally request a tidy up but deep cleans are reserved for spaces I have more control of.
However- one of mine was away and as I was changing the bed clothes, I could stand the mess no longer.
I took a picture ( to be fair, I’d just taken off all the bedding and toys).
20131019-091152.jpg
Despite having others things to do- I dug deep ( quite literally too) and cracked on with it.
Unfortunately as soon as I improved one space, the next shone forth in its squalor.
From this 20131019-091336.jpg eventually to this

20131019-091430.jpg
Thankfully by the time I had removed nearly an entire wardrobe of dirty clothes from various orifices of the room it ended up like this

20131019-091640.jpg
It’s way away from perfect- but I’m a momma who knows she has to stop and draw a line under tasks.
Bless them- they were both so delighted, I was thankful to have done it. Bets may be placed on just how long it lasts although I feel a storm coming… One of them looked at me in dead earnest and said forcefully “I love it so much that I will MAKE sure she doesn’t mess it up”. The ‘make’ was uttered so menacingly that even I was scared.
I suspect that their room may not be the scene of a totally harmonious coexistence over the next few days.

Do you ever feel like you’re disappearing under all the jobs! We often have discussions amongst my friends about how as mothers we feel that the ‘us’ disappears but, me? Well I’d be happy just to emerge from the mess- with my ‘inner self’ hidden or otherwise!

See you soon, when I’ve finished sneezing from all the dust 😉!! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Docrafts Adventure & Packing! Mama Elephant & 20 Years!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carole  |  October 19, 2013 at 9:42 am

    Your card is brilliant and absolutely perfect for purpose! Congratulations on sorting that room too….sometimes we just seem to muster up enough energy to tackle a job NOW!!! It makes us feel so much better and now you can enjoy your weekend off too! Have a happy day. Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  October 20, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Loving the chalkboard look of this card … And great that you have a day off! Oh my … what a job you did on that room … No wonder your daughter was delighted!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Bev  |  October 20, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Great card! Perfect for the boys to give! Great colors too. I struggled with my boys’ rooms over the years. Finally I gave up. I’d suggest they clean it and when it got to a point where I could dust and vacuum, I’d go in. After a while, they’d just started keeping it clean. Can’t bring your friends into a dump…there were more important things to nag them about…though, I did warn them of bugs liking to live in messes. Hmmm….I’ll bet that did it! lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


