Itty Bitty Card & Lots of Play!

August 1, 2013 at 7:00 am 4 comments

20130731-235608.jpg

Morning (she says, in Policeman Plod tones!) – today’s project comes to you thanks to Itty Bitty stamps (Unity), twine and stitching (I’m sounding like the end of a Sesame street programme). I was playing around with the speech bubble stamp which would be perfect for a scrapbook journalling spot and decided to stitch it up. I seem to be sewing on card a lot at the moment. I wanted to add some colour with twine- initially I though I’d do bows on the butterflies- but that looked wrong & then I went to attaching one piece of twine that morphed to five & then I thought it would be fun to echo the chevron pattern of  the paper with the twine. My cards end up being completely random. Some are designed in my red design book, most are not.

This card was chiefly designed for Make The Day Special blog;- the girls over there are brilliant and hilarious.

20130731-235626.jpg

The kiddos this week are being weaned off electronic devices including TV. For some, it may seem stupid- but the kids would spend all day glued into some grid, web or channel so I wanted them to exercise their creativity and have some less timetabled fun. We happened to pop into a charity shop (or thrift store!) & saw ‘Guess who’ which is a game I love & have always wanted to get it for the kids. There, waiting for us was Battleships, Game of Games (a new one for us) & Connect 4. We have had so much fun!

Even Will, is learning fast how to navigate grids & tactics with Battleships. He loves being able to play a game all by himself & there’s the sound of kids having fun. Granted, we’re going over being a good sport, not sulking & cheering on others (do those lessons ever end?!) but that truly was one of the best £9 I’ve spent in a long time. The kids seem proud of their ability to last the day without TV (although they’re getting to watch something at the end of the afternoon- I’m not a total ogre!).

I just need to play a little more now. Maybe not battleships, but ‘sit on the sofa without getting off, and minus the guilt’! Any of you faring well with that game?! 😉

 

See you when I’ve learned how to play that one successfully!

xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Fresh Squeezed Stamps & Mistake Saturday! Fresh Squeezed Stamps & Beaches!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vickiscraft  |  August 1, 2013 at 11:25 am

    I’m working on trying to master the final game there….lol Loving your card and really like the speech bubble, plenty of room to add more text too. Just laid out some more wool to make flowers 😉 wish me luck! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  August 1, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    Beautiful card once again … and terrific stitching!
    Games … oh how we used to spend hours playing them … brings back memories … and good for you encouraging your kids to play
    Have a great day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Monika  |  August 1, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Hi Keren. Like your stitching and twine combo, perfect match. have a lovely day. xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Bev  |  August 1, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    Sweet, sweet card. Love the stitching and the twine. Your choice for the background dp is perfect–interest without overpowering the rest of your card. Really, really like this one.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


