Fresh Squeezed Release Day 3 & Leaving!

July 25, 2013 at 11:12 am 4 comments

FSS_BeachyKeen_BlogBanner

Ready for the last new set? This one’s a lot of fun- and despite thinking I’d have to do a lot of head scratching, this card kinda came together quite quickly.

2It was one of those projects that after the initial idea of the upside down umbrella & wave colouring, it sat on my craft table unfinished for a few days. I realised it needed some sort of ‘sail’ so the washi banner found its way onto the card. The colouring is done using Promarkers and Copics & the patterns are made using the clear pens that help ‘push’ the colour away- I love making patterns into the coloured areas using these blender pens. The hardest thing was knowing when to stop. I wanted to add sunshine & sewn sun-rays & embossed clouds but I thought I’d let this little crab be the star of the show- photoIf you go and visit Fresh Squeezed Stamps & comment on the Design Team’s projects/ stamps- you’ll be entered to win this set of stamps. This set is really versatile- there are the most perfect set of flip- flops (amongst others) which I’ll be creating with later this month.

Yesterday was crazy and busy & emotional. Our no.3 left her primary school yesterday and we were all a little sad. It really was the end of a happy era- I’ve never known such a happy group of friends and it’s sad that most of them are all going to different schools. Friendships inevitably change but we’re going to have to work hard to try and keep some of these friends in touch. Leaving is never easy is it? I was so relieved to have finished the teachers pressies. Some of the Make The Day Special girls reminded me of decorated notebooks that they were making so that sorted out a couple of teachers who I wasn’t sure what to give. I’ll show you one of Harriet’s teacher’s presents. I don’t normally go to town with the gifts but as she was leaving, she wanted to give something special. I don’t really subscribe to the ‘givealotforabiggiftvoucherwhipround’ as a) I don’t have oodles of money to give to every one (too many kids!) and b) it seems a little impersonal. So Harri gave one of these to her teachers (I had to make three- all different!)bag It was nerve-wracking giving them away as everyone’s tastes are so different but we tried to pick patterns and styles with each teacher in mind. The other two were tote bags so hopefully they’ll be able to shove books in to bring to school even if they don’t use them outside of school!

Better go- I’ve got all the kids off now. Today will involve helping eldest pack for a week away, cleaning round, finishing off a crafty commission & getting prepped for work on Saturday. I’m working for Docrafts at The Range in Warrington 10-4pm. Would be great to see you if you’re in the area and pop along!

See you when I’ve dragged myself off the sofa 😉 xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Fresh Squeezed Release Day 2 & Bow Ties! Unity Challenge & The Range

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  July 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Genius with the the umbrella….love your creative and fun card!

    I shouldn’t be surprised that you are a seamstress…that bag is sooooooooooooo CUTE!

    congrats to your no. 3!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  July 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I hate when you say “came together quickly’ … It would take me for…EVER to come up with something this amazing … I just love it! And I love the bag … You make them so well – I love the one you gave to me … and I know the teacher will be thrilled! I still remember leaving Primary … broke my heart … Why can’t we all just stay till we’re 16?

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly S :)  |  July 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    Your card is just a gem – it’s absolutely perfect, and I’m glad it came together for you all, the end result is beautiful! I’m mom to 4 – I hear you on the time and the children moving onward but that means new wonderful adventures are awaiting! LOVELY gifties for the teachers, I’m sure it was well received!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Darnell  |  July 27, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    This is unique and adorable, Keren! Your personal bags for the teachers is thoughtful and I’m sure they will be used and much-loved!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


