Project Roundup Part 2

July 10, 2013 at 7:18 am 4 comments

20130710-071145.jpg
Morning! Thought I’d show you a few of the things I’ve been up to recently. The first was yesterday’s post over at Make The Day Special
It’s another set of images from ‘Oh Baby’ and is rather fitting having an oven in light of all the cooking we do here.
Last week in connection with the 4th July, I made a couple of presents in the shape of Snickerdoodle cake which is a cinnamony and delicious affair and the recipe stated it could be made in jars.
Jars?

20130710-071605.jpg
It felt very wrong baking it in jars. Getting it cleanly into the jars was a little tricky but the batter was more liquidy than the normal cake mix I use. It rose above the jars so I had to slice the top dome off before I put the lids on. I’d sterilised the jars before and you put the lid on whilst still hot and it helps seal the cake. The cake is then good for a few weeks

20130710-171058.jpg I just added the tag and gave them to friends. The recipe is here and the blog is a great read too.
Lastly is a present that I gave to a friend with a new baby

20130710-171152.jpg it was a project I’d seen on Pinterest . The idea is simply to make drawstring bags ( I made 5). You fill each bag with a couple of nappies, some wipes and a nappy bag and they are all slotted into the basket. You then leave the basket near the front door and before you leave for the day, just grab a bag and go. It saves the rushing around trying to pack your bags and I really wish I’d had a set of these when mine were little.

I was going to tell you all about sports day- how I had to teach one of kids about good sportsmanship. Ironic really, given my last post. But due to the fact that is already a humungous post I’ll leave you with a quote for all of you that have had a busy, hot and hectic day

20130710-171527.jpg

See you when we’ve all put our feet up xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Stag Head Card & Grace in Defeat. Welcome Baby! & just popping in!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wendy  |  July 10, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Keren, thank you for including Snickerdoodle Cake-in-a-Jar in your round-up! Your tags are BEAUTIFUL! Two hints about baking in jars: Never fill a jar more than half way with batter or it will rise over the top of the jar making proper sealing impossible. Also, for making the cake last awhile, mason jars (canning jars) are used. You must hear the “pop” of the lid sealing to get the best results. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  July 24, 2013 at 10:33 am

      great tips- I found out about the half filling thing after I’d overfilled them 😉 They went down a storm, thanks! xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Bethan Lycett  |  July 11, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Hey Keren, great sounding recipe, I love anything cinnamon, not sure why its called snickerdoodle though as it made me think it was chocolate and peanuts! I’ll definitely give it a try! Won’t be trying the jars though, how do you get the cake out?!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Bev  |  July 14, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Love your little baby girl card. I’m sure that any new mum would be delighted to see this in the mail. Cake in a jar?! Cool, must try with the grandkids; they’d love to do this. Your tags are amazing, btw. Bright and crisp, fun and happy. Great idea for the diaper bag. Grab and go…brilliant!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


