Stag Head Card & Grace in Defeat.

July 8, 2013 at 8:11 am 3 comments

20130708-075052.jpg
I know- it’s a little crazy.
It’s not real πŸ˜‰
I’m not into taxidermy.
It’s one of the brand new dies from X-cuts and DoCrafts and people went NUTS for these on Saturday.
There are other dies in the range that I’ll show you another day. The one I made on Saturday had eyes and a red nose- I’m going to make Version 2 shortly.
One lady couldn’t wait to get home to use it- she was seriously excited. They are simply slotted together and once you’ve done one or two- the rest will fly together
I had such a lot of fun at Lady Green on Saturday. I’m the first to say that I don’t love working Saturdays but the people I meet when demonstrating mean that the day flies by and I genuinely love it whilst I’m there ( just remind me of that when its early Saturday morning and I’m wrestling with myself to get out of bed!)

20130708-075642.jpg
That’s the side view- I realise this isn’t a ‘popitintheenvelopecard’ and you might actually need to create a simple box but wouldn’t it be worth it to see their faces as they open what is possibly the most fun and mad Christmas card ever. These would make great ‘stag do’ invites or new year invites ( think Hogmanay ) or even just a good man card ( partic if he’s Scottish!!)
Speaking of Scottish I watched my first and only Wimbledon match yesterday. What a one to watch. Andy Murray ( who’s Scottish- see what I did there πŸ˜‰ )
won the Wimbledon men’s final. The first Brit for 77 years. I have to admit we were more than a little excited when he won. I was sewing puffy paper hearts whilst watching and it was the perfect summery afternoon.
Will, however, insisted on cheering for Djokovic which caused a little consternation in the family. He likes doing the opposite of everyone else. I not sure how that trait will work out as he gets older.
I have to say that Djokovic was quite marked in his approach to defeat. He was genuinely gracious and epitomised all that is great in a sportsman ( or man for that matter). To see his mother hug Andy Murray’s mum showed that this family knows how to show grace in defeat. Bravo Djokovic.
I’m not belittling Andy Murray’s achievement- he won brilliantly, but I was more inspired by Djokovic’s response than I was to go and pick up a tennis racket ( ha ha!)
Today, with God’s help, I’d like to model the same behaviour to my kids and hope they learn to do the same.

See you when I’ve managed not to melt today! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy 4th Y’all & Getting Stung! Project Roundup Part 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  July 8, 2013 at 9:19 am

    What a fun card this is!! Can’t say I like to see stuffed heads anywhere … Yuk! But this is delightful and I can see why it would be a good seller.
    Have a great week … enjoy the sun … i’m off cornwall Thurs.!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Bev  |  July 9, 2013 at 1:05 am

    This is just too much fun. Now, it’s not to my style, but I love those little ornaments hanging off the antlers, and my dad and brother’s in law, nephews and uncles would love to get a card like this. I’m usually not a big tennis watcher, but I caught most of the match, and rooted Andy on! And I thought that Djokovic had matured and was indeed, quite gracious. Big congrats from this side of the pond. : )

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. vickiscraft  |  July 13, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    Wow, fab card, these dies are just cool, what will they think of next I ask myself!? Hope you’re surviving this hot weather πŸ˜‰ xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


