Happy 4th Y’all & Getting Stung!

July 3, 2013 at 10:58 pm 14 comments

20130703-223253.jpg
Happy 4th to all my US (& US loving) friends. Some of my kids are wanting to celebrate with you- although I suspect it has more to do with putting pressure on me to have s’mores!
I’ve gone back to my CAS roots. And am feeling much happier for it. I wavered over adding stamping or a hanging ‘4’ but decided to leave well alone. It’s quite a stacked affair..

20130703-223513.jpg
I’m not entirely why but I could make these cards all day. The colours and the grandeur of the flag appeal to me. Its all been made with teeny bits of cardstock. The stripes took ages!Whilst its not my favourite July 4th card ever- I’m still entering it into the Simon Says Stamp ‘Patriotic‘ challenge. Now I’m not sure if I really qualify- I should have done something personally patriotic like the challenge suggested- but forgive me, you all know by now I’m a sucker for all things ‘over the pond’.

Today I got stung- not literally; metaphorically.
I was awaiting a small package. I stress ‘small’. It was containing a few things pertaining to an exciting job I have to do in July. It was coming all the way from the US and to be fair was only worth $45. It is worth more than that to me in many senses, most of all in its entertainment value but instead of the package I received a grey slip.
Anything grey isn’t good.
They might as well print them in black with a hazard warning.
Good old customs had seized my package, opened it for a look, passed it onto the Royal Mail who’d done various admin things and charged me nearly £14 between them for the privilege.
Don’t get me wrong, it’s all above aboard.
There are rules- I get it.
This was a GIFT. Truly.
This is the second time I’ve been stung over a gift.
If it comes from a business address then it’s deemed ‘chargeable’.
Even if it was a birthday present from your auntie and she sent it from work- you’d have to pay for the privilege.
Humph.
I remember the last time I got semi close to getting stung- it was noticing the half a wasp sticking out of an ice cream shortly followed by the realisation that the other half was in fact in my mouth surrounded by the mouthful of ice cream I’d just licked off.
That time I was safe- the stingy end was still in the confection and I walked all the way back to the iced dessert purveyor to demand a new wasp free icrecream. I wanted to ask them why they were selling ices with added crunch?!
I didn’t.
They replaced my rum’n’raisin rather apologetically.

In today’s situation with my package there was no such come back. Rules is rules.
Please Mr Customs, go pick on the big guys- those people hiding illegal things or squirrelling away vast profits in offshore accounts.
Us little crafters are in need of most of our spare change. The Royal Mail guy said I was remarkably calm- he said it was ridiculous and if he’d been standing where I was he’d have given the RM employee a piece of his mind.
He’s lucky I wasn’t in the same frame of mind.
Anyhow. I’m going to make the most exciting projects with these items to make myself feel happier about dishing out money.

See you soon when we’ve had some s’mores. Happy 4th to all of you xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Arrows & Making wishes! Stag Head Card & Grace in Defeat.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. djkardkreations  |  July 3, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Thank you for the most awe-mazing American flag/star/4th of July card I have ever seen, Keren. This is going to cause a Pinterest explosion!! I’m so delighted you are going back to CAS!!

    Sorry you got screwed (can we say that here) by the postal/customs rules picking on the little people. You’ll find lots of folks feeling your pain and in total agreement with your frustration. OTOH, you’ll create some incredible works of art venting that frustration and I can’t wait to see them!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  July 3, 2013 at 11:21 pm

      Oooh- thankyou for such a lovely comment. Do you have a blog I can visit too?!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Bev  |  July 4, 2013 at 2:23 am

    Darn bureaucracies! That’s just wrong. I understand that they’re trying to catch bad guys, but this is just wrong! Your card however, is just right. Darnell is right, this is going to fly around Pinterest! Can’t wait to see what you’ll be doing with your package. You and your family are always welcome to come and celebrate the 4th with us! Lots of room, lots of fun, lots of fireworks! Oh, and we’d make s’mores too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Bethan Lycett  |  July 4, 2013 at 7:59 am

    Love the card, it appeals to my CAS brain! gutted about the package, that’s one reason I only look longingly at most american stamps (although Make the day Special are helping, we just need to convince PTI to sell to them!, by the time you factor in the US postage, the UK customs charge its ridiculous!
    ps Rum and Raisin is my favourite ice cream 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  July 4, 2013 at 10:35 am

    This is a terrific CAS card … so very elegant too …
    I feel for you with the customs … that’s well out of order and here we are law abiding citizen who just want to create … may the world a prettier place – they ought to be ashamed! I hope you enjoy the goods …

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Marybeth  |  July 4, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Your card is amazing! I love the clean layers. Sorry about the Royal Mail you will receive many graces for the way you handled it! Keren your card is gorgeous! Hope you have a fun weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. dianne  |  July 4, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Love the card, sorry to hear about the grey ticket argghhh !!! Katie had one of those, mu cousin sent her a gift from Australia for her 21st , she had to pay £70 !!!!!! for it , never again tol dthem to give her the dosh instead xxxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica Yoder-Jones  |  July 4, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    LOVE this card!!!! Such nice layers and the cut is so fine and made so nicely. Great card!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Lynn Hayes  |  July 6, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    PERFECTION!!!! Love it!
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Martha  |  July 7, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    WOW…Keren, this is one F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S…creation!!!
    Your creations always catch my eye! I love this one!
    Beautifully done!

    Sorry about being “stung”!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. wienerhoneymooners  |  July 8, 2013 at 8:10 am

    This is the nicest Patriotic Card EVER!

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. wienerhoneymooners  |  July 8, 2013 at 8:13 am

    Wow, again.. CASology is a card challenge for CAS cards and this card would have been a real WINNER! IF you don’t already join in the FUN at CASology, you really should.

    Lovely Card!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. cheiron  |  July 9, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    This is an AMAZING CAS card! Love the cutouts. Thanks for playing along in the Patriotic challenge over at the Simon Says Stamp Challenge Blog this week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Cristina  |  July 23, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    Genius.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


