CAS-ual Fridays & How Much?!

June 20, 2013 at 8:15 am 13 comments

20130620-074302.jpg
Hold onto your sunhats- this is a photo heavy post!
The first project is one I did for Make the Day Special which is using the Big Thanks set from CAS-ual Fridays stamps. You can check out all of their stamps here they have a travel theme challenge going on at the moment here which is a great challenge blog & well worth joining in with.
I was really honoured to be asked by Michele ( the owner of CAS-ual Fridays stamps) to be the guest designer for their June Release of stamps and here’s the 3 projects I came up with. You can buy each set starting today!

20130620-074905.jpg
This one is using a set called ‘Wonderful Words’& is a really classic and classy set although I shall be giving it a less classic look very soon. I cut out the main flower 4 times and trimmed around each petal to give the multi layered look.

20130620-075049.jpg
This one showcases their ‘Shenanigans’ set. With a name like that I immediately thought of ‘party’. One of the bold phrases in the set is ‘celebrate’ but immediately ‘celeb’ sprang to mind so I masked off the ‘rate’ part of the word and then created a red carpet to complete the look. I don’t do ‘fun’ very often!

20130620-075328.jpg
To finish off- this set is ‘Lotsa Links’ and is a bold graphic set with different sized and patterned links. The set is actually straight but due to them being great quality photopolymer they bend and snake round easily so I created this bent look.
Michele the owner is a truly lovely person and she deserves all the success of her company that comes her way.

Yesterday I went out to see my lovely blog buddy Ros. She’s the one with lots of vintage and romantic inspired projects and cards. She invited me out to visit a farm shop with a new cafe. It’s a really beautiful place and they give you drinks out of china cups and teapots and the cutest little china jug. Anyhow we went to the shop after – so lovely. Great little gifts and lovely produce. I needed some potatoes.
I saw a largish bag.
We never do small.
With 7 mouths to feed- small bags of potatoes don’t really cut it.
The bag appeared to be about 6kg of spuds which would do us for a few meals.
I took it over to the till and my Britishness kicked in.
I bought two little gifts for £2.25 each and the potatoes.
The total was £11.06
What?
Inside my brain was furiously computing the figures.
That’s £4.50 for the gifts.
That would make the potatoes over £6.
SIX QUID???
Now I realise we’re in a recession and food prices have gone up. But when did that happen?
Are they really that much.
I should have said something but feared looking like a cheapskate.
Ros obviously saw the shock on my face.
She kindly offered to check the price (seeing as I was in shock!!!)
It was correct.
The label on the bag was not the weight — it was the price.
£6.56
£6 pounds and 56 pence.
For potatoes.
I wasn’t regarding them as humble spuds anymore.
I clutched onto them as they were a precious load.
Eat them?
I thought I’d need to frame them!!

Ros reassured me that they are indeed beautiful potatoes and useful for all types of potato recipes.
I’m in a dilemma now how as to use them. I think the packaging needed to be finer to reflect their kingly nature.
Now you all know what a cheapskate I am.
What’s the most expensive vegetable you’ve ever bought?

See you when I’ve stopped deliberating and hesitating about how and when to eat these little packages of starch!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Happy Father’s Day! Stepper Card & Entrepeneurs!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bethan Lycett  |  June 20, 2013 at 9:19 am

    Great cards, especially love your celeb card! You made me laugh with your potato story, I’m similar, and am such a scrimper I’m not sure if I’d have been able to bring myself to say something though. Have you been to Bents garden centre near Leigh? Its beautiful, but the food in their restaurant is silly prices! Most expensive veg? ermm Probably a butternut squash. I thought the price said each, but it was per kg, and the beastly thing weighed a ton!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Carole  |  June 20, 2013 at 10:03 am

    What lovely examples of what looks to be great sets of stamps – I’m off to take a peak! Oh and on the vegetable front….they are all expensive now I’m only buying for one (DH hates veg) – I either pay double for a few ready prepared or buy some, eat some and the rest rot away in the bottom of my fridge! C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  June 20, 2013 at 10:06 am

    They’re Cyprus potatoes … The Greeks need all the money they can get! Haha! I hope it didn’t dampen the day … I enjoyed your company so much …
    Your cards are fabulous!! You always come up with something so unique … I have a DT project to do and one of your cards would be perfect … thanks for the inspiration and the chat … enjoy those gorgeous potatoes!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. alicecarman  |  June 20, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    These are all adorable. I especially like the first card with the airplane slightly shown. Nice touch!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Jeanne Thomas  |  June 20, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    I asked for 1lb cherries – thinking the price on label was for 1lb – when I got to the till I learned the price was for 1/4lb, as you say, I didn’t wish to appear a cheapskate and I said “that’s fine”. I nearly had a heart attack outside the shop!!!! Really love your cards today, they are fab.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Bev  |  June 20, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    Great cards! You’ve perfectly showcased the new releases here. Celeb just cracked me up! Darn clever, that! I don’t think I can come close to your total on potatoes, but last winter I was craving asparagus, and bought some at $6 US per pound. Won’t be doing that again soon! Really fun cards.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Tyra  |  June 20, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    I love the plan flying off of the first card. The potato story is something I can identify with. We just planted a garden and I hope to see a huge savings this year with all the stuff we planted. Fingers crossed. Anyway all the cards you created are fantastic 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Angie Tieman  |  June 21, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Wow! YOu have been busy making some fantastic cards! I love your travel card, especially how you “decorated” the suitcase with the greetings in different languages! So clever! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at CAS-ual Fridays!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly Griglione  |  June 21, 2013 at 11:06 am

    A really great collection of cards, Keren! On the travel one, I feel quite fortunate to be on the ground based on the embossed loopy trail that it left!! Really fun design! And love your red carpet recreation, so very clever. You totally rocked those sets!! So glad to see you at the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge, too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Darnell  |  June 22, 2013 at 5:26 am

    Fantastic array of card art, Keren! It’s wonderful to have you win a VIP at CFC so I could make this discovery!! Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Leni  |  June 22, 2013 at 9:58 am

    Love the first card ! And the 3th is so much fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. maria f.  |  June 22, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Ha! Cyprus potatoes (Ros)! I find that very funny. And I too would stand there shocked. Probably also make some comment about their price. But pay for ’em anyway…
    Now on to the reason for my visit. Your Celeb card for Casual Fridays – phenomenal! Just had to tell ya.

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. tsurutadesigns  |  June 22, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    super cards…you rock the CAS-ual Friday stamps! I need the shenanigan’s set…I just love that word and it reminds me of my boy.

    So….I googled £6.56…..You definitely need to take pictures of the elaborate dishes you are going to prepare for those fine veggies! WOW.

    I have spent more money than I’ve wanted to on asparagus…it’s one of the few veggies that both my kids enjoy.

    I’m more of a fruit girl and will pay high dollars for seasonal fruits like Rainier Cherries…I just paid $5.99 a pound for them yesterday….or the equivalent to £3.88 a pound.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


