Tutu Card & Reservations!

May 30, 2013 at 1:40 pm 6 comments

20130530-131215.jpg
Hey!
How are you all? This isn’t the final version of the card- but a much better photo. The last one had a little yellow bow. It’s kinda a play on words- obviously lost on a 2 yr old but maybe the adults might get it. 2-to..day..’tutu day’! Get it?!!
The second card is one I posted this week on ‘Make The Day Special’

20130530-131953.jpg
It’s using some cute Unity Itty Bitty stamps and the sentiment from an Avery Elle set. The papers are a Lawn Fawn pack also from Make the Day Special.

This week we’ve been to see my Mum and Dad. I had reservations about my reservations.
We’d saved quite a bit of money thanks to Tesco, Red Spotted Hanky and a Daily Mail free 2 month Family & Friends Railcard. I have to clarify I’m not a Daily Mail reader however I was thankful for the offer.
So I’d made reservations on the Virgin train from Lancaster to Penrith. I wanted to have the kids nearby. As I got close to boarding the train I played the scenario in my head.
Board train.
Look for reserved seats.
Ask the people already sat in our seats to move.
They ignore us.
I’d decided in that case I would move on in preference to creating a scene.
We managed to get on and nobody fell down the crack between the train and the platform. Nor had we managed to lose either the tickets nor Yoshi ( the stuffed toy dangling precariously out of the rucksack).
Double bonus.
I searched for our seats. 1,2,5 & 6.
Oh dear.
2 were occupied.
Strictly speaking- 4 were occupied. 2 beefy men were sprawled across them half asleep.
I must have had some momentary courage.
‘Excuse me, I wonder if we can sit here- we’ve reserved these seats’.
Now I’m guessing here- but these guys were African and not smiling.
One looked up and stared ‘move to carriage up there’ he said in a stilted accent & beckoned ‘up there’ towards me with his thumb.
I was fairly dumbfounded.
I just stood there- half shocked, half a little scared & half annoyed.
Ok- so that makes 1 & a half!
Maybe the pause worked.
The other man looked at me & said to the burly one- ‘they’ve got tickets’.
How did he know? He must’ve noticed my white knuckles clinging onto the tickets, 2 coats, a bag & a 5 year old.
They moved directly opposite.
‘Thankyou’ I mustered.
He glared at me, shoved his head onto his hands on the table and settled down to sleep.
I was too relieved to be overly bothered that we had to sit opposite.
The rest of the journey went ahead without drama. My reservations were founded.
Moshi Monster Top Trumps was the game of choice for the rest of the trip.
I rather think that the 4 weary travellers had wished burly-man was successful and moved us elsewhere.
Welcome to the UK- the place of slightly noisy children, fast Pendelino’s, reserve seats and insistent mothers!!

Better go- have some exciting projects to prepare.
See you soon with part 2 of the train story to tell you! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Aeroplane Card & Getting the Train. Bee Stampy! And no DIY breakfasts

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  May 30, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Two lovely cards … really love that tutu! And good for you brave mum! Such a shame that we have to be wary of these situations really …

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Bethan Lycett  |  May 30, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    love the tutu card. I happen to think most two year olds are more interested in presents than cards, so targeting an adult sense of humour is definitely good! Love your story of the train journey!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. alicecarman  |  May 30, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    how super cute are these cards??? Love the designs….great job!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Christine  |  May 31, 2013 at 1:21 am

    I love the Tutu-Card – what a wonderful idea 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Jenny M  |  May 31, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Such a great play on words Keren and I love the little frills to complete the picture :0)

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Jenny Martin  |  June 4, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Your cards are so unique! The tutu is adorable and I love the transparent butterfly. Love your story too – you made a precarious situation sound funny and your words painted a great picture!
    We have had good and bad experiences travelling on the train in the UK.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


