Man Card (minus the gems) & Being Surplus!

April 15, 2013 at 11:46 pm 3 comments

20130415-170245.jpg
For many- the man card is something regarded as a topic to be discussed in whispered tones – with much shaking of heads & communal agreement at the general toughness of the challenge. However, recently I’ve quite enjoyed making them – the travel range (All Aboard) just fits it to a tee ( or if you have lots of friends leaving or going on fabulous holidays).
Obviously maybe lose the gems. Not many blokes seem to appreciate sparkle. Steve would be unimpressed. I hadn’t finished ‘adding’ really. Maybe one day there’ll be some universally accepted ‘man-gems’?
Probably not.
The die cut world shape is from the X cut Kinetic die. Just love that.

Today has been one where I’m possibly utterly surplus to requirements.
After looking after my littlie a lot of last night- he was unable to go to school because of a tummy upset.
My eldest girls were off due to an inset. We had to try and find a prom dress. Please don’t get me started on relaying that story.
Needless to say the shortened version went.
Lots of dresses.
Frowns.
Disappointment.
Me hurrying to find others.
Smash.
Will broke something.
Utter mortification.
Rush to school.
Return home.
Cookies and milk.

What continued ( apart from long term planning of how mum and dad are going to allow one dog, one cat, one extra rabbit and at least two guinea into the house), was a constant bleating about having the DS ( game machine).
Now I’m limiting it at the moment. And I mean severely rationing it. No. 5 would remain on it as long as his eyes were open.
I’m saying no this week.
It’s not gone down well.
He has his eyes on a certain posher version.
The 3D XL to be precise.
He came to me in the Kitchen.
“Mum”, he commented thoughtfully,
“I would like the 3D XL around more than you”.
I stared a little, bristling at his words.
“I do like you, but I like the 3D XL a bit more”.
I don’t expect to be top of my kids most valued items in all the world but it stings a little to be dethroned by a small piece of plastic.
“That’s not very nice” I replied hoping it was just an over exaggeration.
His Dad tackled him over it- asking whether he’d sell any of his family to purchase such a thing.
“I’d sell everyone except you Daddy. I need someone to look after me”.
Yup.
It was me in the night hosing him down. Me again getting new clothes & settling him.
But, no- it’s Dad all the way.
That’s ok- at least Dad had a higher value.
We quizzed him as to what he’d do when Dad was at work.
“Would the DS take you to school?”.
“Oh no, I just wouldn’t go to school”.
That would be a perfect solution for him. He’s a school avoider.
“What would you do for tea- or breakfast- the DS can’t cook” enquired a sibling.
“Of course it can’t cook” he retorted “I’d just starve whilst I was playing”.
He probably would.
And now maybe you understand why I’ve more or less banned computer devices this week.
If I don’t, I just might be out on my ear- sold on eBay to furnish my son with what he really thinks he wants.
Charming.
You can’t take it too personally- after all he’s 5, brutally honest and with a slight developmental delay in accessing his relational side ( joking here!). Empathy may not be his strong suit.
Well, I’d better go really-
I need to go to sleep.

See you when I’ve avoided being traded in for a more interesting model!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Yay! Card & Searching For a Dress Tea Bag Flowers & New Tent!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  April 16, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Oh how I love your stories:)
    Your card is perfectly masculine, gems and all!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Martina  |  April 16, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I can’t stop laughing at your story. Out of the mouths of babes. If they weren’t so darn cute when they were asleep, sometimes one would be tempted to sell them on eBay. LOL.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  April 18, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    I love this card … This collection has to be one of the best! And you made me laugh! I’m sunning myself in Majorca … remembering how hot feels! maybe you should join me seeing how you are surplus to requirements?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


