Sunshine Card & a Cracking Easter

April 1, 2013 at 10:59 am 7 comments

20130401-105958.jpg

Happy Easter everyone!
I know I’m a day late- but better late than never. I had planned a nice Easter card- but it never quite happened- so on this gloomy and dull day I thought I’d inject a bit of sunshine.
This card is in the Card Creations Mag from Paper Crafts. I’m super honoured to have anything in this magazine- they are the magazine I used to look in many moons ago when I first started crafting never believing I’d be in there one day!
I LOVE sewing on cards- and it’s much easier than a lot of people think. Stab a few holes and do a straight stitch.
I’m looking forward to seeing the Sewing Bee on TV too-although making clothes isnt really what I tend to do with fabric.

It has been a cracking Easter in more ways than one. You might know by now that I’d always comment that Easter is not all about the bunny and I’m so glad that we remember how amazing it is that because Christ rose again we can know new life ourselves.
Easter, however seems forever linked with chocolate too- we’d never have gotten away without eggs in our family.
We don’t go overboard but with family and friends and 5 kids- the sideboard is groaning with over 20 eggs. Looks a little like we’re chocoholics ( which would be fairly close to the truth).
It was fantastic to not have any of the kids overindulge. No green faces. No sore tummies.
I did feel pretty full- but that was down to lunch.
The lamb.
The parcel of lamb to be precise.
I’m known for trying outlandish things but this one I even doubted myself over.
So…me and Google are reasonably good friends. I will limit my view of his abilities; I try not to self diagnose medically but Google is my go-to for recipes.
I decided to double check my timings for lamb and came across this little recipe which utilises the ‘Leg in a blanket’ technique traditionally used in France.
In a nutshell;
Hide slivers of garlic in the lamb.
Rub down with extra virgin olive oil.
Blast at top heat for an hour.
Wrap whole leg plus cooking dish in 3 layers of foil and tightly wrap in 2 large clean bath towels.
Leave somewhere warmish for 6-8 hours.

So I marmelised said hunk of meat. So much so- there was a thick blanket of smoke.
Everywhere.
It was 7am in the morning ( 6am if you go pre-clock change).
I opened the back door and froze.
All in the name of culinary exploration.
As I tightly wrapped the joint in the towels and it looked quite like a swaddled baby, I wondered whether I’d taken leave of my senses.
I wasn’t only inflicting this on my kids but my in-laws were playing guinea pigs too.
Slightly more troubling was I’d come back in 6 hours, unwrap it and quite possibly find a seriously ‘blue’ chop that no one would eat and I’d have to ram it back in the oven and ruin it as all the fibres would tighten and it’d go tough.
I’m happy to say IT WORKED!!
It was quoted as being the best lamb that hubby had tasted. It was moist and soft and…thankyou bath towels!!
The cracking continued with a literal occurrence & ended with the sacrifice of an entirely reasonable dessert.
This dessert

20130401-112518.jpg
I know, the eggs were leaking a little. Weeping before they were consumed quite possibly.
I was tidying away, being mithered by a child old enough to know better.
The accident happened.
A glass jar fell out of the cupboard, managed to smash the entire cake plate the dessert was resting upon and finish by unceremoniously smashing itself on the tiled floor below.
Great.
Love -loved that plate.
After the clean up- we couldn’t risk that any shards had gotten into the Easter Nest cake. I plopped it into the bin, feeling that I’d quite possibly been saved from snacking on it later.
My hips were thanking me.
But- I had a final weapon.
This..

20130401-112908.jpg
Maybe something needs smashing on that too πŸ˜‰
It’s only Easter once a year!

See you when I’ve hidden the rest of the choc,
How did you celebrate Easter?
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hello Card & How Dense? Birthday Butterflies

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carole Waechtler  |  April 1, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Happy Easter to you too! Love the card and really fancy trying out the lamb recipe next time we have a leg! Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  April 1, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I seriously love visiting you.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jenny @ The Brick Castle  |  April 1, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    I love the card, it’s really beautiful and looks far more work than you lead us to believe! I’d have been gutted about the plate and cake – weeping eggs or not, it looked lovely. At least you had a standby…. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  April 1, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    Love your card! Funnily enough I was doing a sun card for some upcoming DT project … We too had lamb … not done in towels (must check that out – my Grandfather was French and I don’t think he ever used towels) but I always use garlic! It was delicious … No chocolate cake … I made an almond and raspberry cake Yum!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. alicecarman  |  April 2, 2013 at 5:34 am

    Congratulations on your publication!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Lucy Abrams  |  April 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Your card is one of my faves in the magazine. I adore it.
    (And the cakes look pretty yummy too!!)

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Emma Day  |  April 3, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    That card is stunning. Looks like the ones they charge a LOT of money for in posh shops. Very pretty. And the Dessert and the Cake both looked delicious. Sorry to hear you dropped the dessert 😦 I’d have cried if that were me! Thanks for joining in my Easter Linky.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


