Hello Card & How Dense?

March 26, 2013 at 9:15 pm 2 comments

20130326-211626.jpg

Well hello!
This card is along the same lines as something I was doing on Saturday. The chalkboard craze shows no sign of abating and this little number is a pastel-y version. It’s fair to say that I liked the idea of smudging ink around the edges ( I know the photo is pants- haven’t had time to retake it).
For those of you uninitiated in everything chalkboard- just think pub lunches and the kind of art you’d find in creative pubs wanting to make your choice of lunch that little bit more interesting.
Emboss a little, stamp with white ink ( chalk, craft ink or even white Stazon) add some extra paraphernalia and smudge the white ink around to give an impression of the smudgy effect left on the chalkboard.
Give it a go. It’s a lot of fun. I need to do a more colourful version but I do not exaggerate when I tell you in the past 5 days I’ve made over 40 cards, 3 scrapbook pages and a mini book and I’m still not done. I’m sat here tonight still stamping.
Good job I love it most of the time!

I’m becoming increasingly concerned about my density.
Not so much from a bodily perspective ( although I really should spend more time reducing that),
More from a mental aspect.
I can shrug it off and claim ‘crowded brain’ – which is an entirely made up syndrome that inflicts most of the momma world.
I’m not paranoid enough to think its a sign of something more sinister ( although I’d be daft never to consider it)-
It’s most likely to be a consequence of a certain deficiency in brain cells.
Whilst I pride myself in attempting to keep learning- you’re limited by the amount of brain capacity.
My capacity was not so capacious the other day.
I was on the way to a demo and was putting my foot down ( completely within the law, obviously). Not too much as its within a speed camera.
As I was imagining that the speed camera was in fact smiling I noticed that my car was not going any faster.
Hmm. Psychological response to being near a camera?
Nope.
There was no response.
Great.
Power had gone. Fortunately I was near a side road and pulled in to prepare to ring my knight in shining armour & ring the craft store.
As I was doing a bad job of a 3 point turn, I noticed a sign on my console I’d never seen before.
It triggered something in my memory.
I must interrupt the story to add that my car is only a few months old ( well to me, anyhow). I’d not quite digested the manual although it is on my to-do list at about no.1051.
Fortunately I clocked the matching sign on my steering wheel.
Oh dear.
It was the cruise control.
Apart from the fact I’d unknowingly set it, I didn’t know how to remove it. Who needs to be able to set the speed at 30?
I had.
After a little messing around, I released the car from its limits.
I went on my way secure in the knowledge I had acquired a new skill.
Less impressive was my concern this week over the car doors.
I really wonder where I put my brain.
Picture a car with sliding back doors.
There are advantages- no worrying about kids slamming doors into the car next door.
( their mother is supremely good at that one- oh wait, I never told you that story!).
It’s a heavy door and clunky.
When it started to shut, I began to get the kids to say ‘hands clear’ so I knew it was safe to close.
Sometimes the kids have got a little close to it shutting.
So I worried a little and took matters into my own hands.
I decided to do a little experiment,
You can guess what’s coming.
I did.
I stood in the way of the closing door ( I decided to jump out of the way if it didn’t shut.
I stood in the gap.
The gap closed.
So did the door.
Umm.
It stopped when it got to me.
Now I’m not sure whether I shoved it slightly back with my hips or whether its designed that way.
Not sure I’m brave enough to repeat the experiment.
They do say you should do one thing every day that scares you..
Some days it’s simply getting out of bed!

Better go. Work to do.
See you when I’ve finished stamping!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Get Stamping & Workshops. Sunshine Card & a Cracking Easter

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alicecarman  |  March 27, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Cute card! I totally agree about the getting out of bed. It’s the hardest thing for me too.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  March 27, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    I love this colour combo … a refreshing change on the usual chalkboard cards … and once again … very unique!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


