Owl do you do & Tesco!

February 26, 2013 at 11:53 am 2 comments

20130226-115415.jpg

I think I may have lost myself completely. Pastel and animal cards and cute ( I may have to sit down to recover)!
I have some completely gorgeous products to craft with right now. This set is not one I’d have picked straightaway and I have bright and more funky plans for this little bird! Anyhow- I’ve just finished some projects for Creativity magazine which is published by Docrafts and they asked me to do pastel cards with a theme I’ll share later. Pastel? Moi?
Well I survived and it was a good challenge. It therefore has rubbed off a little. I had a baby card in mind when I did this but haven’t any baby sentiments. So it’s an ‘owl do you do?!’

I haven’t regaled you with any Tesco stories recently so I thought it proper to redress the balance.
I have been to the ‘chuck it all down the belt as fast as you can’ shop ( aka Aldi) and I quite like it.
However- you can’t forget your roots can you now. We often pop to the little Tesco Express store just where the girl’s school is and last week Will slipped over. Got a perfectly large shiner and was quite upset.
There happened to be a man standing there not in uniform who saw him fall and came straight over.
“Are you ok little fella” he asked
Will nodded through his sobs.
“Would you like a sweet?” Silly question! I don’t think mine would ever say no.
The man instructed “go to the pick and mix sweets and take whatever sweet you’d like”.
Will perked up.
The kids looked at each other a little unsure.
“If anyone stops you or tells you not to do that, just tell them that the manager said you could”.
Ah, the comforting tones of authority.
Emboldened by the power of the one issuing the order, they set off rather gleefully whilst the manager winked and I thanked him ( not for the wink, obviously!).
He spied them 2 minutes later.
To my embarrassment he had gone for the largest sweet possible. It was the size of about 4.
“You took the biggest one then?” He questioned with a grin.
I shuffled off battling with the part humiliation and part wondering that he may be thinking he’d got away with that quite lightly perhaps fearing I may have complained about the accident.
All’s well that ends well.
To further the theme, we were visiting again on Monday. Just my no.3 and me.
We went to self-checkout the goods at the till. She loves putting them past the scanner. Once the basket was empty she asked “where should I put the basket”.
I signalled to below the scanner. She said
“It’s ok, I’ll put it away”.
I said it wasn’t necessary to take it all the back.
She looked at my mischievously and quipped
“Well, every little helps”.
The cashier on the next till couldn’t help smiling.
I like to think that we bring amusement and varying types of excitement wherever we go. Some of the excitement perhaps others could do without, but it’s rarely a boring day at the Bakers!

See you soon. I’ve 3 kids off due to eating problems at the school and I’ve managed to acquire two more! Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Campervan Card & Half Term! Wax Crayon Resist & Dog Tired!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  February 26, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    This is definitely not what I expected from you but absolutely fabulous!! It still has your quirky originality and creative genius and I really love it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  February 26, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    What a fun card…I’m not a pastel kind of girl but LOVE the look of that sweet owl!

    “Well, every little helps”. <<—– love that.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


