Pastel Note Card & Clearing Away!

February 7, 2013 at 1:10 pm 5 comments

20130207-123327.jpg

My card is unusually delicate. I like to see if I can actually cope without brights. The answer is no. I’m not a pastel girly. Perhaps it’s because I’m a pale faced blonde. Maybe it’s because I love the vibrancy of the fuller colours or just simply they’re more fun?
I’ve mixed up some chronology ( stamps) vintage notes (sentiment) and spots and stripes ( craft tape). People seem still afraid of the Chronology range. “I don’t do grunge and messy” is their cry. It’s mine too. I love sharp lines and clean edges.
‘Fraid so.

It’s one gorgeous stamp and I’ve highlighted some of the beautiful individual elements by stamping them individually and adding them like a little shelf!

I’m around at Abakhan (Liverpool) on Saturday 12-3. I’ll be doing lots of Big Shot techniques too. There’s a great offer they’re running that any purchases of a Big Shot between now and the end of February get a 2 hour techniques workshop plus some make and takes. There’s the chance to pay for the workshop too particularly if you’ve got a die-cutting machine and want to explore all the many many things you can create. Come in store and see or get in touch with me for more info.

This week has involved clearing up and cleaning up. How does my home get so crazily messy so quickly? Anyone know?
I found this and thought it was entirely true!

20130207-130010.jpg
Do you concur?
( love that word!!!)
One of my kids in a creative expression decided to show off all of his latest Lego models in his bedroom. Love the eye for the artistic but it’s involved kinda chucking all the things that were on the ledge previously to a new home decorating various parts of the carpet. The Hoover is speechless.
So am I .
A jumble sale has nothing on my son- it looks like someone has raged in there & strewn anything not nailed down onto what was previously known as the floor.
My heart’s not in it.
The idea of sorting through umpteen pieces of plastic, paper and ‘stuff’ makes me sigh.
And not in a good way.
The temptation is strong.
Get 3 bin bags- dont look. Scoop up every single piece of bittiness and deposit in a said black liner.
If it weren’t for the wastage and tears it would result in, I’d do it.
In a heartbeat.
Imagine how fast housework would get done!
I have flattening to do.
This kind of flattening.

20130207-130805.jpg
Anyone else’s ‘flattening’ pile taking over?!

See you when I’ve told the kids to jump up and down on it! Xx

Oh P.S.- this is Will’s latest insight into politics-
“David Cameron …David Cameron- he’s our owner?”
Really? ( I ask incredulously)
“He’s the guy that keeps the whole country safe. And the queen “.

Maybe Will will go into politics! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Sunshine Card & Animals! Acetate Flowers & Snowed Under

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  February 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    What a lovely card this is … I love the softness you created with those stamps … yes I’m one of those “I don’t do grunge…” people … maybe have to rethink now I’ve seen your lovely card. Great quote from your little one! haha! And my heart goes out to you … ironing and clearing the mess made by your son … You need a holiday … or a medal?

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Bev  |  February 7, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    I’m with you. Pastels are my last resort, but on occasion I will use them. The way YOU have used everything — stamps, design, color choice — works so well together. And I always enjoy reading your blog. There were times when my boys were little that a bulldozer would have really helped with cleaning their rooms. lol And I hate flattening too! There is a pile of Christmas tablecloths calling to me, but I’m ignoring them!! Your card works, and is beautiful. So, keep those cards and posts coming! Bev

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. TiaraHelen  |  February 7, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    I like your card (even if it is pastel!). And it’s a great sketch for any sheet of stamps, just to fussy cut a few highlights. Even before I read of your lego trials, as soon as I saw the quote, I was thinking of my younger daughter’s horrifyingly messy bedroom which always has a mass of clothes, school stuff, toys, makeup and just plain rubbish all over the floor. Still don’t know the solution.
    Good luck with the ironing…

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Jessi  |  February 8, 2013 at 10:14 am

    A CAS card from a collage image…now that is some talent you have 🙂 I had to come & tell you that OMG if only I could bring myself to throw away those tiny bits of toys…Transformers. Lego. Hero Factory. K’nex. It’s a barefoot minefield in here! And even when you think you’ve got every piece….you don’t. You’ll find it on your way to the bathroom in the night, for sure.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ~amy~  |  February 8, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Oh Keren, you make me laugh…well, I love your card!!! I’m like you and gravitate to bright colors so I always appreciate pastel cards…they are a challenge for me.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


