Jumper/Sweater Bag & Star Wars!

January 29, 2013 at 8:46 am 7 comments

20130129-075333.jpg
Hey! It’s no good asking you what this bag began its life as- I’ve given it away in the title. Here’s a picture to show its humble πŸ˜‰ beginnings

20130129-075443.jpg
Actually, that was one stage into the process. I’d already felted it at that stage. Felting sweaters/ jumpers is easy- just make sure they’re pretty much 100% wool and not a new jumper that has been pretreated to stop it shrinking! You’ll get a feel (quite literally!) for whether it will felt. Shove it in the washer at as high temp as possible & do something to distract yourself whilst you wait for the process to end! Once out, put in the tumble dryer to complete the shrinking of fibres. Depending on what it looks like, you may need to wash it again if its not felted down enough. You shouldn’t be able to see individual fibres in the garment – and when you cut it, it shouldn’t be able to fray.
Some will tell you to cut it up ( sleeves etc) before you shrinkie it- but I’ve never worried about that.
Now onto chopping it up ( always gets me- I never want to!!)

20130129-075949.jpg
These were the handle straps ready to sew.
The thing is- the jumper cost Β£4 in a charity shop ( thrift for my US/Canadian friends!).- I realise the jumper thing and even the Hackett brand is a mystery to y’all ( thanks Joscelyn!!). The fabric I’ve lined the bag and handles with I had in already but it’s a bag for a fiver. Not at all bad value.
Cheekily, I cut out the designer label and sewed it inside the bag! Obviously I wouldn’t sell it, but it makes me smile when I see it.
What do you all sew?

Well, yesterday I met with a manager from Hobbycraft. They’ve got a fantastic scheme called the Artisan Scheme. Looks like I’m going to get involved with some demonstrating of the things I do, perhaps sell some bags and will be hoping to book some workshop space in one of their newly renovated stores. Exciting times.

I’ve still a couple of spaces left on Friday’s class ( feb 1st 7:30pm)- will be fun; ‘sneaky and superb stamping’. Come and join us!

Kiddy front- well where do I start. One kiddo is on a one man( girl) mission to bake enough cupcakes to save up to get her bunnies spayed. That will be a whole lot of cake!
We’re being taken over brick by brick by Lego kits. You look where you’re stepping before you commit. I’d love to know how many lego-related injuries are caused each year. I think I may need some safety boots.
I’m sure they’re secretly multiplying.
Our dining room table is currently the residing place of a half finished Dark Maul’s Sith Infiltrator! ( don’t ask!)
I am however having to learn the Star Wars language which is utterly alien to me. I know people glaze over when I start talking about the nuances of craft gear but honestly- the names…
Admiral Gial Ackbar, Boba Fett, Ak-rev, Stass Allie, Darth Andeddu..
I’m never going to understand them. Han Solo I can cope with.
Bring back Thomas the Tank Engine!!!
I did want to have the coiled buns like Princess Leia – when I was little. NOT now! Was it just me?!

Better go… I’m in the midst of the school run. May the force be with you!!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Friends Card & Radio Fame! Lighthouse Card & What a week!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 29, 2013 at 10:35 am

    You’re just so creative … I think you should have a big workshop somewhere in the country … Think it would really suit you … good luck with Hobbycraft … it sounds really promising

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue Brannan  |  January 29, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Bag Brilliant..hope you’re new venture goes well clever lady. Your tales as ever make me laugh. Have a good night Friday (PS my owl cake now uploaded if you want a peek, simple but pleased with it and used a script embossing folder to sort of create feather effect on wings !).Sue x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  January 29, 2013 at 11:26 am

    I LOVE your bag….felting is such a fab technique. I need to do something like that. I signed up for a sewing class…I know how to sew on paper so now I just need to learn to sew on other stuff.

    legos…yes, they multiply and I think every momma has stepped on them at least once…ouch.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. The Brick Castle  |  January 29, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    I did so want to have hair as long as Proincess Leia’s. I used to ask my mother to put mine up in those Cinnamon Whirls for school, but she wouldn’t (looking back she had very little to work with).

    We have a ‘no shoes’ rule in my house – mainly to protect the Lego from damage… πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Virginia Lu  |  January 29, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    My kids and hubby are all grown-ups…they do not stop playing with Legos and Star War…just so you are warned πŸ™‚ Your bag looks fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Happy Angel Jem  |  January 29, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    You cannot dis Star Wars. I learned so much about human nature from it when I was little (very young in 1977 with Episode 4!), then I learned that nostalgia doesn’t mean having to recreate the past (through episodes 1-3) and now I’m learning that dreams can come true since the director of Star Trek (awesome) is going to direct Star Wars 7 (brilliant!) thus combining two of my favourite universes!!!!
    And the bag is brill.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Lalo  |  January 29, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    Lego injuries HERE!!! I think we get it way worse then others considering (how many kids we have x each lego kit)…NOT GOOD!!! As for star wars LOVE!!! I still don’t “get it” or the names but LOVE watching with the kids. Super fab up-cycle too and congrats on more scrappin’ jobs!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


