Valentine Heart & Niceties!

January 11, 2013 at 10:35 am 8 comments

20130111-083647.jpg
Happy morning!
Trying to begin blog posts differently is becoming more challenging! Today’s little hanging heart is using a lot of new stuff from DoCrafts. The heart die is really beautiful and it’s one of the things I’m demoing tomorrow from 12-3 at Abakhan Liverpool. It’s backed with pink felt and I’m not entirely sure what I’ll do with it afterwards! I’m enjoying doing some freestyle collage right now although I’m stretching the definition somewhat linking it to this project.

Today I’m wrestling.
Fighting with the house.
Honestly, it’s really winning right now. Stuff is everywhere.
But I’m attacking back. I’m not a lover of constantly tidying- there is more to life (& plenty of crafty projects to get sorted). But for the sake of my sanity (& to avoid any more injuries) as I near miss tripping over jackets, enormous Transformer toys, medicated talcum powder ( random!!- and not mine), a singular green squishy Incredible Hulk hand and a balloon powered car. To name but a few.
All I can say is its a good job this house is on solid foundations. Sometimes I think it groans with the weight of all the kids stuff. Not mine, mind.
Of course not.
Who would ever have a large amount of craft paraphernalia ?
Not me
😉
I’m still smiling from last weekend.
Ok, not constantly.
Too many tired kids.
I decided to play not nice mummy yesterday.
Out went the usual niceties.
Like reminding them in triplicate to get up. I have conversations like this normally.

‘Will you please get out of bed, you’re going to be late’.

‘If you don’t like the light being on, move to a darker room’.

‘It’s not ok to ping your brothers tie right back so he feels like he’s choking’.

‘No, I have no idea where your tie is..or did I create a card with it yesterday’.

‘If you don’t get the milk out of the fridge, it won’t walk to your bowl’.

‘Yes, that’s a lovely picture made from lego cars, but school won’t let you through the gates in your pyjamas’.

You get the picture.
I got tired of the chivvying and running around like a headless chicken.
So I didn’t.
Yesterday I went at everyone else’s speed.
It changed everything.
I felt blissfully relaxed.
Noone else did anything.
I reminded my teenagers when they protested that now they were late, that they were old enough to read a clock.
The littlies fared less well.
‘Its not fair, we’ve not had our breakfast’.
‘Well,’ I cheerily replied. ‘Go and grab a piece of bread. Maybe you should have got up and dressed more quickly when I asked you to get up’.
I did feel a little guilty but noone has starved eating a piece of bread for breakfast.
Guess what.
This morning- all were up and down ready for breakfast.
No chivvying.
Result.
Dispensing with the usual niceties sometimes works. Or they’ll be eating a lot of bread ;-).

Oh- and the RAK thing, I met a lovely friend in a supermarket – and she just gave me a beautiful flower and plant arrangement while I was chatting to her outside her car. She hadnt bought it for me either. Just a spur of the moment thing. Thanks Jo! X

See you when I’ve come out from the rubbish! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Legoland Discovery Centre Card & Review Love-y card & demos

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 11, 2013 at 10:55 am

    What a great post … I loved reading about your change of plan with the children … Way to go Supermum! Ad I love the heart … that’s so pretty … I love the way you adorned it … good luck Saturday … hope to catch up soon xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sonia  |  January 11, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Hi Keren! I really need this heart die and I wonder if you can tell the name so I can look around for it? Beautiful ornament by the way! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  January 11, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    Love this…I only have 2 kids and sometimes it is a struggle but love your method:)

    That heart die is gorgeous! ….backed with pink felt…lovely…you could hang it around a bottle of wine…says the girl that doesn’t drink:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Happy Angel Jem  |  January 11, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Tee hee. Let’s see, that might only work because your oldies are girls…. I tried this with the lads once and.
    Let’s just say it wasn’t pretty. At all.
    I find dispensing with the niceties and just bellowing works best at making them move but doesn’t half wind me up!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Isha  |  January 11, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Oh this is soooo pretty. TFS Keren.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Amelia  |  January 12, 2013 at 7:46 am

    This is so pretty Keren! The colors and die cut heart are gorgeous.
    Amelia x

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Sue B  |  January 15, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Pretty heart…popped in to Abakhan Sun wasn’t sure if you did sundays but ob not. Love the ‘morning niceties’….good luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Jessi  |  January 16, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Absolutely love this heart collage – that die is gorgeous, but all those little details show it off even more beautifully!
    I hear you on the morning (and house) chaos…I especially hear you on the bits of Transformers everywhere. Lego. K’nex. (Actually, the last 2 aren’t bad. I threw some away after stepping on it & now they’re very careful.) I have 2 boys, both autistic, one obsessed with time & one…not so much. Generally the first is sitting completely bundled up for about 5 minutes before the 2nd is flying out the door at top speed. The horrifying thought of missing the bus seems to be enough to get him going 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


