Thank you Card & Christmas!

December 28, 2012 at 12:04 pm 8 comments

20121228-104426.jpg
Happy Christmas! I hope you had a lovely time celebrating Jesus’ birth!
We have had a great ( albeit pretty manic!) time. This card is for you- my lovely blog readers who’ve stuck with me this year.
I’ve been overwhelmed more than ever with new (& old faithful!) friends who’ve taken the time and trouble to visit, comment and encourage me. It means a lot— thankyou!!
This year is going to see quite a lot of changes. The biggest is that I’m now a DoCrafts demonstrator.
It’s really interesting to explore other companies. I have been impressed with the direction they’re going in. The latest ranges are really great- and the quality of the products just might surprise you. I got the most enormous box full of Chronology (kinda a steam punk style with a modern edge) Love Notes ( vintage-y, pretty, lace-y) and Spots and Stripes pastels (think you can manage to imagine that one?!!)- to prepare for demonstrations. A great lovely free surprise!
Looks like demonstrating is the route I’m going down but I am putting together a proper schedule of classes and will be holding some events. This year is going to be exciting.

Back to the card…I received a pretty special present. A silhouette cameo. Steve said it wasn’t very interesting particularly as its partly a business pressie- but you girlies know different huh? 😉
I’ve been glued to my laptop trying to shove the nuances of a new software package into my resistant brain. I’m there at a basic level. The cut out background is a free cut-graphic that comes ( amongst others) with the Sihouette. The wording & star I’ve created. I have to say I’ve made a few mistakes with it but learned heaps already and have discovered the next big thing – vinyl for papercrafting!! It’s so tactile, doesn’t really blunt the blade ( aka moneysaver), and has a stretchy property to morph over any textural elements on your card. Trust me- vinyl stickers are the way to go.
I’m going to start selling some vinyl shapes and phrases- so watch out too!

Well- better go. My back is giving me grief. Somehow I managed to pull a muscle cooking Christmas dinner. Who’d have thought it was so dangerous! I’ve had some lovely presents and some funny ones too. My friend commented that I’ve now found my gift— wanna see what it is?!
Here’s a picture ..

20121228-120135.jpg
Toilet paper origami !! Beware all bathrooms. I just might ‘pretty up’ your loo roll!
Better go- have a walk to go on. Need to walk off all those calories that seem to have clung to me over Christmas!!

Oh and just found I’ve been put in the 10 ten trendiest cards at Moxie World. The voting is for another 20 hours- so if you found yourself over here and fancied voting for me- then I’d not be unthankful 😉

See you when I’ve dug myself out of the mountain of chocolates, biscuits and nuts (not that I’m complaining!!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Chocolate Packaging & Be back shortly! New Year Page & Presents!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  December 28, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Yay!! You got a Cameo … now I can come to you for tips!! Lovely card and I’m so glad you had a good Christmas … sorry about the back though … Hope it gets better soon … XXX

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  December 28, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      haha! As if!! I resisted texting you late last night- when I’d got myself stuck when things weren’t welding together as they had done before. Argghh- technology; love it and hate it. I’ll be battering down your door and camping out in your craft room til you osmose all your cameo knowledge!!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  December 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Oooow very nice! I’m sure this will keep you busy (amongst other things…lol)

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. tsurutadesigns  |  December 28, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    wahoooooooooooooo for the cameo! Your card is simply lovely….that background piece is fab, I don’t think it came free with my cameo. Can’t wait to see what else you do with your wonderful toy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Sue Brannan  |  December 28, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Toilet origami…I’ve heard it all now, looks fab though and I’m itching to have a go heehee….well done on the new toy…and the demonstrating, have put my vote in too, Sue B x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Sharon bates  |  December 28, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Can’t wait to see events for next year, have a great new year

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Monika  |  December 28, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Hi Keren. Love your card. Great news about the DoCrafts Demo. I have noticed a huge improvement in quality and style in their products since I started card making all those years ago. Love the look of their Chronology range. xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Jeanne Thomas  |  December 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Congratulations on becoming a Docrafts demonstrator – well deserved, you are very talented and its good to share our gifts. Really love your card. All the best for the coming New Year to you and all your lovely family. Lots of love, Jeanne xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


