Nudging into Neon & Overhearing!

December 5, 2012 at 6:29 pm 6 comments

20121205-183118.jpg

There are some trends that you ‘fall’ into. Neon is one of those. As an 80’s girl, I thought I’d left neon well behind. There are some outfits better left abandoned. When I think back to electric blue batwing tops and bright pink shirts, not to mention the neon socks, I shudder a little.
This crafting trend is a little easier. There are brights and there are their cooler cousins. I think neon slips into that category. If you don’t go mad with it, then the recipient won’t have sunblindness.
I’m entering this into Moxie Fab World’s Keen on Neon challenge sadly you can’t see the real ‘neon-ness’ but trust me, it’s bright!
I’ve another one in the pipe line so I’ll post that once it’s finished.

Interestingly enough I’ve been listening in- overhearing in fact.
But not intentionally.
Unintentionally.
Well, they were pretty loud and standing right next to me in the queue.
I’d already nearly bumped into one of the ladies in the car park.
I’d gone in to park ( obviously ) and there were no spaces. Actually, people were parking in front of other cars and completely blocking them in. I really dislike that- so I wouldn’t do that myself.
I did a 34 point turn ( well, it was pretty tight I can tell you) and as I tried to exit the lady concerned was just sat in her car not moving- we looked at each other. It was pretty obvious that unless she moved along no-one was going anywhere. Eventually she took the hint and let me out.
I knew exactly what her plans were- she was heading for the line of ‘blockingeveryoneelsein’ drivers.
I found a space elsewhere and headed into the collection point. There was Mrs naughty parker standing right next to me.
They were having a conversation..
“I thought this wouldn’t take long”
“Me too, I’ve kind of blocked someone in”.
Giggles.
“Me too- ah well, they’ll just have to wait” ( hmm… not the best attitude!)
“Well there was nowhere else to park” ( yep, not if you refused to walk more than 20 paces).
“Oh dear- and I don’t know quite how I’m going to get out”
“Yes, I’m going to have to reverse- I haven’t done that for ages”.
( sorry- what was that? How can you not have reversed recently if you drive a car)
“Oh, I know- last time I did that, I was on my driving test. What was all that reversing around a corner about- I mean, when are you ever going to use that?”
( I was really intrigued now)
” yeah, when I go to park in the supermarket car park, I drive around until I find a space I can go forward into and then straight through so I can exit forwards too”.
( Oh dear- this was getting worse)
“I know, that driving test- I remember having to learn the parallel parking thing- I mean, who ever does that?”
( ermm me- when you need to park- ermm probably most of the driving population!)
“It’s stupid, I only really ever go forwards”.
At this point it was all I could do not to laugh out loud.
I would have loved to see her not reverse out of the car park. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m no Sterling Moss, but girls- you’re letting the side down.
Hoping they never get stuck anywhere. I imagine they both drive around supermarket car parks for a very long time. So if you ever see a female driver dithering around parking bays, chances are it may be one of these directionally challenged duo!

Better go, have some decorations to put up. See you when I’ve doubled my electricity bill with all the extra lights! …

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Gift Wrap & Little Boys! More Neon and Blowing Noses!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lalo  |  December 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    AWESOME card keren…not too much neon where my eyes hurt LOL!!! Have to laugh at the “directionally challenged duo” too funny how people can be soo lost, and not funny how people can be so inconsiderate. 😦 > crazy girls

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  December 5, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    I love your card … so very unique and definitely none sunblinding … Ah the 80’s…. best thing about them was that I gave birth to my boy … Your story made me smile and that’s something I really need right now … I’m in Lincoln on my own … my Aunt is very sick in hospital and her cat who is normally great decided to miss the litter tray! what a day I am having … say a prayer for me xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. alicecarman  |  December 5, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I love this design Karen. You are so creative!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. ~amy~  |  December 7, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    ahhh…neon, it looks fab…I have neon inks that need to be used so thanks for the inspiration.

    Love your overhearing feature…what the heck? I can’t believe those women! I love popping over here because I learn so much…I googled Sterling Moss:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Catherine  |  December 7, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    such wonderful use of lines and colors

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Cath  |  December 10, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Keen on Neon Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


