Demonstration Card & Surprising Things!

November 27, 2012 at 4:16 pm 2 comments

20121127-135034.jpg
Hey! Please forgive the bad photo- I guess it’s more of an ‘action’ shot! The background you can spy is Abakhan in Liverpool and its where I was demonstrating on Saturday. I was there from 10-4 and the day simply flew by. I was spending the whole time using products from Do Crafts and really concentrating on their stamps. Now I know chalkboard cards are pretty trendy- ( well perhaps in the US- we may catch on eventually!). I’ve seen lots popping up everywhere- I did a chalkboard card some months back and tried a different look. I was trying to make the stamps have a modern feel- it would look fab as a Christmas card with snowflakes onto navy card and coloured Christmassy images.

I was somewhat surprised by several things during the day. The first should never shock me- just the complete loveliness of people. Some came to say Hi who come every time ( I’m really thankful you turned up). Some were friends who popped to say Hi! ( thanks too!). There were lots of new faces who asked really great questions and helped the demonstration flow.
There was a very unusual surprise when I walked into a nearby coffee shop. It shall remain nameless!
I wanted a hot drink and ambled into the cafe for a takeaway drink. As I opened the door and wandered in I noticed the girl serving.
Well you couldn’t help it really.
She was bedecked unusually.
She was sporting large pink rollers.
All over.
Every part of her hair was wound around a curler.
Now I realise you need Velcro rollers to create long and lusciously curly locks but in a cafe? At lunchtime?
It was all I could do to not to drop my jaw. I had to try very very hard not to stare incessantly at her head.
Noone else seemed to notice. In fact the other staff seemed to think it was normal. So did the customers.
Is it just me?
I relayed the story to the kids.
They said my surprise was indeed judgemental. It was up to her.
I retorted that I’d never ever ever seen anyone professionally going about their job in curlers.
I suggested that it was unique to Liverpool.
The replied that I shouldn’t judge!
Hmm.
I’m still surprised by it.
Wonder if you would have been?!!

Better go. See you when I’ve become less judgemental!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Pan Pastels Card & Silent Screaming. Gift Wrap & Little Boys!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  November 28, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    I love you chalkboard card … terrific! and I’m so happy it all went well for you … Saturday was not a nice day to be out so I’m glad people kept you busy … and as for the rollers … I’m with you … I would have been sacked on the spot from all of the jobs I’d had if I turned up like that … not that I would have … Even at my age … I’d die if anyone saw me like that!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  November 29, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    Love your chalkboard card…I need to try this technique because it has such lovely results.

    rollers…reminds me of grandmother’s with rollers..I’ve never heard of baristas sporting them…I had to chuckle because here in the states, at least in Washington state they have drive thru coffee places that have, um, scantily clad girls slinging coffee..that’s what I thought you were going to say…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,447 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


