Hero Card & Determination!

November 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm 4 comments

20121116-151401.jpg
Friday is hurrying by already isn’t it. Thought I’d post another ‘reject’. i know it’s a US flag but maybe if you squint, it could pass for a union jack too!
The letters are die cut- I finally found a set that you could position your letters wherever you wanted them and so use the negative space. My other alphas dies I sold on and bought these Die-namics ones with the proceeds. Love them- they’re tall and thin ( like my personal wish list!).

Anyhow, I thought it would link up nicely with talking about a little mini hero at home who’s having some character forming episodes. He returned home from a school linked swimming lessons to say he’d not got into the same group as last year and couldn’t really work out why. He was really really upset as his friends were all in that group. We talked it through and he said he spoken to the teacher and explained that he used to be in that group and could he move up?
She replied ‘no you can’t and you’re going to have to work very hard if you think you’re going to get out of that group’.
Maybe that was a little harsh and somewhat discouraging.
I explained that maybe he’d not shown them exactly what they were looking for in skills and had he spoken rudely to the teacher?
He insisted he hadn’t and more than a few tears were shed.
We decided he’d have to go back the next week with a good attitude and show them just how good he could be and maybe just maybe eventually they’d move him back.
Now, the temptation was for me to circumnavigate the process. It would have been so easy to go into school and ask whether they’d seen the conversation and what had happened and why wasn’t he in the group.
I decided to leave be.
Picking your battles is hard sometimes.
The morning came of the next week- it was this Thursday. I promised to pray and waited.. albeit a little nervously.
That afternoon he returned- jubilant.
Had he been moved up?
No.
A different teacher had watched him swim. She’d told him that if he worked like that again he may well get moved up.
The difference in teacher approaches and his response was so dramatic.
We chatted about how your attitude can make such a difference.
I explained that I could have gone into school and tried to get the problem fixed but he’d managed to work really hard and with Gods help, look how the situation was different.
He’s a little hero to me. But then I’m biased.
I’m so thankful I left well alone…for a change!!

Need to go and pick the littlies plus a friend up.
See you when I’ve survived the weekend xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas mini card & Parcels Sewing Card & Indigo Blu

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  November 16, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    What a shame this was rejected .. I think it’s perfect! Great story about your little one … good for him … Let me know if you are free sometime next week and we can try and link up xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karen123abc  |  November 16, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    What a lovely lesson for your little hero to learn! Really hard to wait and pray when we so want to intervene for our children. Maybe you should make yourself a hero card! (very cute, by the way.)

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jeanne Thomas  |  November 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Oh Keren, I was so touched by your mini hero. It is so hard sometimes not to go into school and have it out with the teacher!!
    Its good that you could talk it over together and pray about it.
    Lets pray he can work really hard and get moved back up with
    his friends. I am so glad my children are now grown up with
    children of their own and being a grandparent is just the bestest
    job in the world, we love it.
    Jeanne xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Karen B.  |  November 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Teachers can make all the difference in someone’s life. Great story and I hope that he does get to move up! And great card too, a lovely concept and perfect execution.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


