Salt Acrylic Birthday Card & Coldness!

November 6, 2012 at 1:44 pm 4 comments

20121106-125848.jpg
Hey!
Here’s something I really don’t usually do- animals ( well of a fashion!). I was playing around with some acrylic paint- you spread some thinned down paint onto a piece of card, sprinkle salt onto and let it dry overnight.
The salt reacts with the paint. You can brush some of it off- the salt soaks up some of the colour. You can flick the salt off when dry.
Sometimes it does surprising things- it looked remarkably like a little alien with ears ( or so it seemed to me). I inked up a ‘monster’ set of stamps and gave him a little face. I might adapt it for my littliest’s Birthday card next week.

This week has been much slower. The weekend was hectic but fun.
I really really love Firework night and we did it early with some friends on the Saturday night.
Last night some other friends came over and we visited a big organised display. The beautiful colours and grandeur of the scene combined with some powerful music was just amazing. William couldn’t quite understand the idea of ‘bonfire’. He thought that I was calling it a bomb-fire’ and insisted it was just a fire.
The highlight afterwards is staying up late and having bacon butties, hot chocolate and gingerbread cake with some leftover Parkin.
It is pretty cold and most nights I go to bed wondering about those who live on the streets. It must be extraordinarily difficult- I can’t even begin to imagine.
Some of my kids haven’t quite got perspective- they’re just feeling the cold. One of them recently announced that in light of the fact that the kitchen is so much colder than the inside of the fridge, we might as well save on electricity and turn it off.
It’s that’s true- we should live in the fridge then. Wonder how many kids I could fit in?!!
See you when my toes have warmed up! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Christmas Demonstration & the wrong Body Parts Christmas mini card & Parcels

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  November 6, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Such a fun card Keren … Glad you enjoyed your Fireworks … Hope to catch up soon … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jessi  |  November 7, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I’ve never tried this technique – but it looks awesome! And ‘he’ totally looks like an alien with ears. Love the single eye 🙂 Teaching kids perspective takes forever, it feels…I know exactly what you’re talking about! (and since you’re joking about living in the fridge, I’ll tell you – I usually joke about keeping the boys in the deep freeze. lol)
    So glad to “meet” you – Amy Tsuruta sent me over & I’m here to stay 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  November 10, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      So lovely to ‘meet you’ too. I know of you in blog land and love your kind comments. I’ll be over to visit very very soon- in fact I’ve already visited you before!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. ~amy~  |  November 7, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Such a cute alien….I always love popping over here for not only your designs but your stories…not sure what the bacon butties or Parkin is….gotta google those:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


