Baby Card & Colour Me Beautiful!

October 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm 7 comments

20121023-171600.jpg

Here’s one of my cards that never made anywhere in submissions for magazines. It’s using a Penny Black set that’s pretty cute and the card is crazily simple. Just shows that CAS isn’t hard and can be so quick to do. I’ve just stamped onto two different pieces of patterned paper ( these two were Fancy Pants ) and a smattering of punched hearts.

It’s half term. It’s already felt like a week. Since Saturday the following has happened.
Big clean up with everyone ( the house that is, not the kids) and escape to the shops only to break down in the car by myself ( the car that is, not me, although by the end I felt a little broken too).
You’ve probably been there- merrily going along and all of a sudden the car cuts out- like an invisible person has slammed big time onto your brake pedal. Not fun.
I was so glad that everyone was at a reasonable speed and not bumper to bumper or I’d have had someone up the back of me. I’m driving an unfamiliar car, trying to work out what happened with a car to my left, a car behind, frantically searching for the hazard light button and trying to get left onto the side of the road.
When hubby came out to me- he reckoned it was something to do with air not getting into the engine ( so cars breathe too- who knew?!) and once a bit of revving had happened and the car spluttered and coughed out whatever sludge was present, I gingerly drove home.
Sunday was a fun day filled with church, friends and family. 7 kids together were surprisingly well behaved. It was the adults that got a little raucous.
Monday was an early birthday lunch out treat for my mum from my mum and dad. They came for a visit and we made two Pharaoh masks ( don’t ask!), went shopping and caught up.
In the evening I went out to see a friend. That’s when the trouble started.
One of my kiddos bought themselves a hair dye ( remembering this one from a while back?! Same kid, different hair colour). It was against my advice- but since when did that make any difference ?!
I had said previously that she needed to go to a salon for such a drastic colour change yet she still ploughed ahead and purchased a fairly platinum blonde shade. Bearing in mind she’s dark brown/black- you can probably tell where this yarn is headed.
I’d just arrived at my lovely friend’s house and the texts began. I just can’t have any time alone!
‘ Hope your enjoying yourself 🙂 The hairdye kind of went wrong haha.. But luckily for you: the bathroom is pristine :)xx’
The girl has a sense of humour.
I asked for a picture– holding my breath whilst simultaneously being super grateful that I was out!
The conversation continued until the picture finally came through via email.
‘Ermm. It looks kinda ombré‘ I encouraged?
It was hard to tell the full impact.
I tried to suggest that a hairdresser could fix it and it was simply an adventure ( a moment of uncharacteristically chilled parenting on my part!)
This morning I saw it in its full glory.
Umm.
‘Ombré’ is one version.
Hubby helpfully said that it looked like she had a dead hamster on her head.
We went to visit a hairdresser.
She said £40+…
I’m not paying.
Lesson learned ( I hope!)

Tonight I’m going out with hubby- it’s our wedding anniversary. 19 years! Where’s that gone?
Out for a meal I am not cooking myself. Bliss.
See you when the shock of being waited on has worn off! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

You are my Sunshine & Organisation! Speak Kindly Card & Challenges!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bev  |  October 23, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Awesome card. Love the bunny and the brolly. Great hair story; reminds me of the time when 2nd youngest looked like he put a bowl on his head for a haircut! All I could do was laugh and send him in for a REAL haircut! Kids….
    Happy anniversary too. ; ) Bev

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Lalo  |  October 24, 2012 at 12:08 am

    The card is simply adorable, can’t believe it didn’t get picked up anywhere!!! okay now that that’s out of the way hahaha I can totally picture her hair in my head seeing as I did the same thing to my dark brown hair in my youth! Didn’t have money to get it “professional” fixed so I wore a rag and beanie on my head till I got more hair color. live and learn 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Craeford  |  October 24, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Happy Anniversary!!! (ok a day late I think … sorry) Hope you had a great time though … Love your sweet card and your story … never a dull moment at the Bakers!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  October 24, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Oh joy!!!! Happy ‘belated’ Anniversary, hope you enjoyed your meal out.

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Karen B.  |  October 25, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    First, congratulations on your anniversary. Second, sounds like a good lesson learned to me, I’ll have to remember this for the future. Third, glad to hear that you are ok with your car troubles and lastly, what a cute card! I’m a huge fan of clean and simple, and this card in all its CAS glory really packs a punch!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. tsurutadesigns  |  October 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    she had a dead hamster on her head
    seriously…I think you need to write a book….

    a-dorable card…seriously adorable.

    Happy belated anniversary!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Virginia Lu  |  October 28, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Aw… super cute! I have this stamp set as well and don’t play enough with it! Thanks for the inspiration, Keren!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


