Sock Owl Failures and Pulling Teeth

October 15, 2012 at 2:28 pm 6 comments

20121015-140744.jpg
Happy Monday!
No card today- just my sock owl failures. Sock monkeys have been a success in our house. I have been ridiculed for these. I feel a little sorry for the sweet twosome. It’s not their fault that their hooting isn’t to everyone’s tune and can blame them even less for the lack of affection heaped upon them.
Poor things. It started out as such a good idea. Loved making them- a nice quick make.
Once I’d finished my husband retorted of them ‘well it’s not your finest hour’, my no.2 kid commented, ‘it’s their wings that are a problem. ‘
Still another mentioned that they looked strange and my hubby couldn’t believe that I’d used old socks. Harrumph- they were all brand new- bought specially for the purpose.
So they sat huddled in the corner of my craft space looking a little forlorn and feeling very unloved.
Any ideas for names?
I’m going back to the sock monkeys- it seems that they’re socially acceptable. My little Will likes them ( bless him!)- he wants one for Christmas. I may make him a non-pink colour way!

Last week I went for a visit to the Dental hospital – a thing of efficiency and smiley- ness unsurpassed by any medical institution I’ve had the dubious pleasure of visiting!
Speed- wow. They were quick. I’ve never gotten a x-ray so quick. Ever.
I was first examined by a pair of students. They were completely lovely- and I repeat the story only because it amused me not because I thought they should have done it differently.

So, Mrs baker you’ve come in because of your polyp.
Ermm yes.
When did you discover you had one?
When my dentist told me.
And when was that.
About a month or two ago?
Would you say 4-6 weeks?
Maybe- I can’t really remember.
Shall we say 6 weeks?
If you like!
And when did you notice it?
I didn’t . My dentist told me about it.
So you’d never noticed it before that?
Ermm.. Pause. No. I didn’t know I had one.
Have you seen it?
No- I haven’t.
Where in your mouth is it?
I don’t know- I’ve not seen it.
Has it been hurting you?
(At this point I paused then tried again)
No, it hasn’t.
It hasn’t given you any trouble?
Ermm. No. I didn’t know I had one !!!
So. Can we see.
One student then relates the size- has problems estimating it so the other comes over and tries to measure it.
They conclude its about 2-3cm.
They then discuss how it isn’t red or sore although the other student keeps mishearing and repeating the wrong thing.
They then ask me about an abnormality in my palate.
Did you know you had an abnormality?
Ermm. No. Not until my dentist mentioned it.
So you weren’t aware of something different ?
Ermm. No.
Does it hurt or is it ever sore.
( I was really trying hard to be patient at this part. They don’t call you a patient for nothing).
No, it’s not sore-like I mentioned, I didn’t know it was there!
Have you seen it?

At this point I lost the will to live!
They have to ask these questions- they needed to present me to their equally lovely mentor. It was a little tedious though.
My Dad amusingly commented that it must have been like pulling teeth!!

Better go. I’ve a nice bit of surgery to look forward to now. They reckon its been caused by a sharp tooth and some attrition type of behaviour. It will come out and be fine. I have such an exciting life!
See you soon when I’ve found a home for my orphaned owls!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Jars of Thanks & Staying and Playing! Candle Cuff & Parent Evenings!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann N.  |  October 15, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Hi Keren,
    Thanks for this post–your “teeth” story had me in stitches this grey Monday morning! And I think your quirky owl pair are adorable!! They look quite lovable (I admit I am partial to owls!). How about “Dotty” and “Linus”? Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  October 18, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      Glad I could brighten your morning. Thanks for your lovely comment!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  October 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I love the sweet owls! And what a story! Oh my … I think you must have been exhausted! Have a better day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. alicecarman  |  October 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Your Dad was right, it’s like pulling teeth…lol Great story!!! I love the owls, so what’s wrong with them?

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Michelle Acuna  |  October 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I ADORE your little owls!! LOVE them! It’s so funny that it got a different reaction in your house. Your dental story though…PRICELESS!! So glad that you saw the humor in it and spread some laughter around!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. kerenbaker  |  October 18, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      thanks for your comment! Maybe my owls arent such a flop then. Gald you thought my story was funny- we all need a smile in our day!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


