Munchies Monday & Competitiveness

October 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm 4 comments

20121001-141544.jpg
No craft- just a cake. I was in a shop and found some perfectly ripe and reduced pears, added them to a chocolate sponge mixture, ( getting rid of as much moisture as possible), add 1tsp of ginger ( it was a doubled mixture) and once baked, drizzled melted choc over.
Ermm. You’re going to need to keep me away from it. Just lost some weight. It may go back on again!

My small story today involves my car. My Disco 3- which is being sold. It makes me sad a little, only because it feels like an old friend. I’ve never named it, I don’t lavish it with lots of care – but it’s been with me through thick and thin and I feel an affinity with it ( my husband would be so proud!). The indicator bulb had gone on one side. I’ve learned how to change them- its actually pretty straightforward. I went to buy some replacement bulbs only to buy the right size and wattage but the wrong style.
On my return trip I was short of time and needed to replace it then and there as its illegal isn’t it and that’s aside from being fairly dangerous as no one knew what I was doing from the back of the car.
As I came out with the correct bulbs, and after slightly smugly refusing their bulb replacement service ( why pay £3.50 when I can do it for free) , the bloke next to me was having the said fitting service. The Halfords man was ably changing his light bulbs bedecked in sparkly white plastic gloves.
I am ashamed to admit that I have a competitive side. A very competitive streak. I’m no suffragette ( ok, maybe a touch) , but the drive for equality struck big time. I would race the man fitting next to me and I did take satisfaction that it was a bloke not actually changing the bulbs.
Hmm. Man? Shouldn’t he be doing that himself. There you have it, I was just being proud.
I did take enormous satisfaction from finishing at the same time and took even greater pleasure because I had done it without gloves, AND in nearly 2 inch heels.
Girl power? I should say so!!
See you soon, when I’ve gained perspective that changing an indicator bulb isn’t really that big a thing!! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Arrow Card & Medic Training! Bottle-top card & WOYWW!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  October 1, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    Oh wow that cake looks fabulous!!! And YAY!! for you … love the light bulb story … sooooo proud of you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  October 1, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Hi Keren. You make me hungry, that cake looks mouth-wateringly tasty. Will keep fingers crossed for you on Saturday …. not quite sure how to do that whilst massaging, but never mind. XXX

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. alicecarman  |  October 1, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    You go Karen!!! That is a great story. You rock it in the heels too.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Jeanne Thomas  |  October 2, 2012 at 12:38 am

    Well done you! I wouldnt even know where to start. It was
    lovely to see you at Port Sunlight. Jeanne xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


