Denim Cards & Wrong Shirt!

September 17, 2012 at 3:05 pm 8 comments

20120917-110158.jpg
Good morning ! Ready for another week? This one will be a really busy one so thought I’d post while I had a couple of minutes. This card was created from leftover denim- more on the denim a bit later.
I’ve an old Sizzix ticket die- love how the denim ticket looks and I’ve added Jillibean Soup paper and labels, a smidge of Fancy Pants rub-ons and some Core’dinations paper that I’ve embossed with a Sizzix folder. Next time I’ll stick to white card- the denim would look better contrasted against white.

20120917-110756.jpg
This picture is another project I’ve been making. It’s actually my second ‘jeans-to-skirt’ but the first was plain and less ‘out there’.
I got a little creative. A little too much really. Had this daft thought about ruffles on the skirt. Decided I’d use an old shirt of Steves and also a little ruffled skirt my kids had years ago. So I made this detail on the front and the same on the back

20120917-111003.jpg
I know it’s a little mad- but dontcha get a weeny bit tired of wearing just exactly what everyone else is sporting ?
The issue with my newly created skirt became apparent once I showed it to my husband -‘what do you think?’ I quizzed him. He looked ( as he dutifully does when I ask him about my projects). He nods and then when I ask him what he thinks about the striped ruffles be then became somewhat more interested .
‘ermm- what is that material?’
‘oh, one of your old shirts in that bag- I love the fabric.’
‘that was not an old shirt’.
Umm.
Silence. Pregnant pause.
‘is it not?’
‘No’
‘Sorry.’
Quick exit.
Thankfully he forgave me. It was an expensive shirt too. I could tell.
It ruffled beautifully !!

Ah well. Mistakes happen.
They happen to me -a lot!!

See you soon when I’ve managed not to chop up anything else just lying around!

PS- linking this one up to the Moxie Fab Assymetrical challenge!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Garland Card & Getting it Wrong! Repetition Card & Parent gutting !

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 17, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    OMG we are on the same wave length!! I love your denim tickets … they look amazing … great card!
    Years ago I had some culottes which I changed into a skirt … I made a pleat back and front by stitching back that curvy bit … I LOVED that skirt! I wore it all the time … Can’t believe you cut up Steve’s good shirt .. sorry for smiling ……

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  September 17, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    LOL… Well, now it’s an expensive skirt:) which I love! Awesome card..I’ve been die cutting an old pair of my jeans:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  September 17, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    I thinks steve’s expensive shirt looks just grand as your skirt ruffle!….lol Is there no end to your talent women?

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. alicecarman  |  September 17, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Karen this is awesome. Not only is your card design adorable you can sew too. I’m jealous….LOL

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carole Waechtler  |  September 18, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Brilliant, just brilliant. Another post to make us smile. Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Karen B.  |  September 19, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Such a cool card, a perfect mix of elements. I have to hide my husband’s shirts that I know aren’t good anymore to use for rags, otherwise he pulls them out and will wear them again!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Yolanda D  |  September 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    That is too funny! Glad Janet linked up your blog.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Cath  |  September 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Asymmetry Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


