Garland Card & Getting it Wrong!

September 14, 2012 at 9:15 am 8 comments

20120914-082218.jpg
Hi! Yesterday was my day at Paper Crafters Library and this was what I came up with. I am forever using up little bits in my cards and this card is perfect for scraps and or getting out those punches that may not have seen the light of day for a while. Garlands are super- trendy and I think are the slightly cooler cousins of the bunting craze ( albeit a vertical version!!). Try it out- you don’t have to suspend them on threads, you could just draw them using pen.

Well yesterday I got it spectacularly wrong. You may know my littliest is undergoing ( being a highly suitable word) his staggered induction into school. He’s not found it really exciting yet but bless him, he’s been very stoic. At the moment he’s going in different days and various times. I was back at home knowing ( I thought) how much time I’d left before picking him up. I was suddenly blessed with an overriding urge to double check the time he needed getting.
PANIC!!!!I was supposed to have been there 5 mins before. I had completely got the time wrong. I knew school would be fine and would look after him until I arrived. I’m about 10-15 mins drive away and I sped there just wondering how he was feeling not having had his mum turn up.
Awful! I felt utterly awful. I’ve never done that before and it’s not really a great start to your school beginning.
More was to come however.
Once I’d picked him up, apologised profusely several times, one of the teachers asked him whether he’d had a lovely morning? ” no, not really’ was his distinctive reply.
Umm. Somewhat embarrassed I began to head for the door. The teacher laughed, ‘he would rather just stay at home with his mum’.
I smiled and then his actual class teacher started to talk to him. She only asked him the very same question.
In in a mili- second I hoped against hope that maturity and sensitivity would kick in and he’d not mince his words quite so much.
Are you kidding ?! He’s 4,- not impressed his mum never turned up until half an hour later, he was sat in the middle of an unfamiliar office with adults who are lovely but unknown to him and he’s yet to fall in love with the institution called school!
No, not really”. He said perfectly unmistakably.
I grimaced. His teacher smiled and I really hoped that she might get a sudden attack of amnesia covering the past 1800 seconds. Fortunately she seems kind and I’m hoping will glaze over my error and his honesty!
With my pride not at all intact, I left with a cheery but extremely embarrassed ‘thankyou and goodbye’.
See what happens when you mess up!
This morning unsurprisingly,he did not want to go to school. He was helped along by porridge and dippy eggs! Thankfully he went in without a murmur. Stoic. He is terrifically stoical.
I now have the time 11:40 permanently emblazoned on my memory.
Let’s hope I make it on time!

See you soon, hopefully with the correct number of children exactly in the places that they should be ! …

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Christmas Chandelier Card & Advice! Denim Cards & Wrong Shirt!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TiaraHelen  |  September 14, 2012 at 9:48 am

    I like your little boy’s honesty. He’s entitled not to like school. Imagine how awful to pretend you like it for years, wondering why you’re out of step with everyone else. This way the teachers will be watching and learning what he actually likes.

    My eldest loved school. But before that sounds like bragging, let me tell you about her first week at school. She had a really nice time, came home happy every day, and seemed pretty settled. At the end of the week her dad asked her whether she’d had a nice week at school. Her answer? “Yes, it was nice but what shall we do instead next week?”

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  September 14, 2012 at 9:50 am

      Like your story! I guess if we teach our kids to tell the truth then we can hardly expect them to do otherwise!!! I’m sure he’ll settle in before long. At least he’s telling me how he feels!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  September 14, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Love the way you used scraps to make this card … so lovely … And hey … you wont be the first or the last Mum to make a mistake … we’ve all done it and YES it will be forever ingrained … even though they were with good intentions!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Annette Allen  |  September 14, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    wow another fabulous design…so cool..

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  September 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Let me start by saying that I always enjoy your stories…I feel your pain but if it makes you feel any better, when my boy had to have a pin inserted in his broken arm, we were late getting to his hospital room and he had woken up before we got there…I felt like thee worst mother ever…funny thing, the boy wasn’t sad that we weren’t there when he woke up, he was absolutely upset that his cast was white and he had request orange.

    Love your use of your little bits on your oh-so-sweet card.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Mona Pendleton  |  September 16, 2012 at 12:46 am

    Cute card Karen! Love the garland!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Amelia  |  September 17, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Great card, Keren. So cheerful with a lovely CAS design
    Amelia x

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Garland Card & Getting it Wrong! (kerenbaker.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


