Christmas Chandelier Card & Advice!

September 13, 2012 at 8:40 am 8 comments

20120913-075103.jpg
Morning. Hope you’re having a good morning. The weather is simply stunning, the heat’s amazing and the gentle breeze is so refreshing- umm.. Oops, forgot I was in the UK then! It has been hailing here!! Hailing so heavily that my friend’s little boy was crying because the hail stones hurt him!
Onto the card..Hero Arts’ September Challenge is taking stamps and changing them up for a different season or look. I’ve kind of changed mine- maybe not quite enough. I’ve used a fleur de lis type stamp to be ‘mistletoe’ and changed snowflakes into baubles ( ok, same season, but have changed them all the same!) I’ve added little bauble ‘tops’ and drawn in the strings with gold pen. That’s the kind of chandelier I’d like in my home.

Well it’s the beginning of term, the kiddos are settling down. It’s hard to see others with different settling-in issues. There’s a whole lotta advice flying around. Some helpful, some not. You’d think that inciting a ‘call to arms’ over problems your kids were having just isn’t going to ingratiate you towards your teachers and school and probably isn’t the greatest example to your kids of how to deal with conflict! Softly softly initially I reckons is the best way to go- or at least treating staff with respect whilst you work through the problems with them.
I did read someone dishing out some completely stellar advice this week. Advice that I’m dying to give a go. It was a post from the Brave Girls Club about magic words that have made a difference. Imagine this – your kid/sister/husband can’t find something – I guess you’re all inwardly sighing at this point- remembering the squillionth time you’ve been asked where their homework book/razor/false teeth (maybe not) etc etc is!!
It’s soo usual to give them an idea- they reply that they’ve already looked here and the conversation tends to freefall from that point! This superb woman said she asks them ‘where have you looked?’ and it then makes their brain work in surprising ways. It makes them actually think where they’ve looked and she reckons they actually process the problem themselves and go and look elsewhere, normally finding it in the end. Oh, I cannot wait to try this one out…the problem is, everyone suddenly seems to know exactly where they’ve placed their items! I’m sure it won’t be long, and until then, I’m waiting with a little bit of internal glee and excitement.

Better go, I’ve my littliest to deliver to school – ( sob sob!!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Simple Wedding Card & Remembering. Garland Card & Getting it Wrong!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 13, 2012 at 9:51 am

    First up I just love that card … the chandelier is lovely and you did a brill job of changing up your stamps … Thanks so much for the advice … I can’t wait to try that either … I know I wont have to wait long! Have a great day ….

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. TiaraHelen  |  September 13, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    Interesting advice Keren, we are always loosing things. I will try this approach!
    Our four favourites are:
    * Where is it supposed to be, and have you looked there REALLY well (ie not in a panic)?
    *If you were a [insert name of lost thing], where would you hide?
    *Take me through what you were doing when you last had it
    * Have you looked UNDER things? (I seem to be the only one in the family who ever does this!)

    I like your re-purposed chandelier too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  September 13, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Oh wow, this is so cool, I love it!

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Annette Allen  |  September 14, 2012 at 1:22 am

    wow wow wow this is amazing…I SOOO LOVE IT…very creative and just beautiful…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and voting for me..Happy Crafting

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ~amy~  |  September 14, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    excellent transformation of that chandie…seriously…I love it want it in my home:)

    I always love to visit…your writing style is captivating….I love your piece of advice that you’ve shared and cannot wait to use it on the kidlets!!!!

    BTW…squillionth time….I gotta use that….I love that….

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Karen B.  |  September 15, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Such a cool and clever idea! I think I want to do this in my own home….except I think I’d need a fancy chandelier! What a clever use of those little pieces that we have left over.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Amelia  |  September 17, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Love this card Keren, so creative and super cute!
    Amelia x

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Zoe Tant  |  September 17, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    This is fab, I love it! Zx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


