Butterfly Tag & On Being Weary.

September 3, 2012 at 6:19 pm 5 comments

20120903-175943.jpg
Whoa- nearly school time. ( sad face and tired face too!). Thought I’d post a non-card. I hardly ever make tags- and then wonder why I have none when it comes to wrapping pressies.
Wanted to show movement. May well enter this in the Moxie Fab challenge too. Really enjoying sewing on my cards too. Paper is Jillibean soup and some SU! Seam binding ribbon.

Today I’m feeling a bit weary. Failed on a challenge that usually tries me to the core and this year I may have to admit defeat. It isn’t marathon running ( as if- the closest you may see me running is in hot pursuit of cake!!). Nor is it a personal goal. It’s simply SHOES.
Now before you all dismiss me as perfectly vain and terribly shallow- I have to qualify the statement and explain its my daughter’s shoes. It’s often a crazy struggle. She has to wear a splint due to a mild disability she has and this means shoes are hard to come by.
Imagine yourself taping a large solid piece of black toughened plastic onto your foot and then finding a shoe that fits. Hard. Impossible? Very nearly.
It seems odd to pray about a pair of shoes- but I have. And others too.
This morning I thought this would be the day. We’ve been to the city centre, out of town, we’ve even visited another city. Zippedy doo-dah. N-o-t-h-i-n-g.

I have to be tough and gee her along. She gets really downcast normally. It’s not like I’m saying ‘well honey, I don’t think those shoes are suitable’, not even ‘school will NOT allow those’ nor ‘over my dead body will you be wearing them’. Just one pair is all we need.
She rarely gets a pair that are trendy or that she even likes. I even dragged round the other kids this morning. A Boiling hot day, shops and shoes don’t make for a harmonious trip.
So that’s why I’m weary. Wishing she could just go and choose a pair. A choice would be lovely.
So maybe, for any of you that pray- I’d love your prayers too.
I can barely contemplate another trip tomorrow. Don’t really want her to turn up in non-school shoes as there’ll be a Spanish inquisition ( from the other girls). Trainers are the next step. Black trainers and probably boys ones. Poor her. It’s easy for me to gain perspective and talk about how others in the world would love any pair of shoes, but then I’m not the one who they may make fun of at school.
Hey- I’ve even thought about papercrafting a pair ( in a mad moment of desperation !). Now I’m just waiting for the elves.
You know, from the elves and the shoemaker.. Those who sneak downstairs at night and create a beautiful pair of shoes, then two, then more. I won’t be greedy- could just do with one.
See you soon. …
Hopefully with a pair of black shoes!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Mini Album part 2 & Lemming Behaviour! Hello Card & Tiny Invaders!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 3, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Aww! your poor daughter (and you) …. I will say a prayer ‘specially!
    Your tag is definitely a symbol of movement … Love the sewing …

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jeanne Thomas  |  September 3, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Will be praying for you all that you find the shop God has waiting for
    you with the perfect shoes for your daughter. Lots of love, Jeanne xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  September 3, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    oh no…so sorry to hear about the shopping trip…pahooey. I bet you’ll find something very soon…that’s some positive thinking for you:)

    …and your tag…love it…tags and butterflies…awesome match.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia Lu  |  September 4, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Hope you find the RIGHT shoes—what a great mom you are! I shall keep you in my thoughts and prayers! LOVE the movement of this card…I can totally feel it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Cath  |  September 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Movement Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    …and I hope you were able to find some shoes for your daughter. I am constantly amazed at all we take for granted. When we hear a story like this about a task that is relatively easy for the rest of us, it humbles me. We all have our crosses in life to bear, don’t we? Hugs to you, you good mama you! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


