Minty Fresh Challenge & Crowds!

August 18, 2012 at 9:28 am 11 comments

20120818-090408.jpg
It’s Saturday at last. Thought it was never coming. Saturday means the cavalry is here. I speak about Steve in the plural because he’s good like that- probably worth two of me. He’s unjaded as far as the kids are concerned which is always a good thing.
Anyhow- the card.
Well Moxie Fab’s challenge is here and it’s called ‘Minty Fresh’. Cath has compiled a smorgasbord of lovely inspiration that I was truly inspired by but I was a little short on anything minty in my craft cupboard. I have to interject here with an explanation of what I’ve done. Firstly if I hear the word minty fresh- my brain goes in two directions. Firstly it’s ‘toothpaste‘. Minty fresh was a strap line for some companies tooth cleaning mixture a while back and it makes me think of stripes because of the toothpaste pattern. I found a piece of ribbon with a mint stripe in it and so I decided to add rows/stripes of hearts. ( the heart bit isn’t linked – unless you start quoting how good dental hygiene can reduce heart disease- anyhow, I digress).
The other direction I wander off to ( cerebrally speaking) is ‘gross‘. The word ‘minty’ used to be said if something was less than pleasant. I think it was a teenage phrase of mine. Less said about that strain of minty, the better.
My minty hearts are some Black Magic Core’dinations cardstock I had. It was the only mint green stuff I own. Ah well. The card is a little convoluted but it is what it is.

It has to be said we are good at padding out the numbers. I go anywhere with another friend and their kids and we immediately are a ‘party’. I take great solace when I go out with someone else as because my kids don’t all look particularly like me, noone can tell whose kids belong to which Mum. Handy that. It’s quite useful for avoiding the stares. I often imagine people are totting up how many kids each person has- although I doubt they’re actually thinking about us at all. I really love going out with my friends who have 4 kids themselves. 9 kids. 2 adults. It’s a big crowd!
I had to laugh recently when we were chatting with some friends and the husband looked with surprise at my first son. ‘is he yours’ he said. ‘it’s just I knew you had 5 but have never seen him before!’. I forget that 5 is a big number, it seems so normal to us.
I think that when we go places,like for example hospital appointments, they’re not really set up for grande familles-they all troop in behind me and half of us have to sit on the floor because there are only 2 seats. People keep looking and register surprise that I’ve brought so many. Well I could hardly leave them at home now could I? And yes, they are all mine, and yes, they all have the same father ( it has been asked, trust me), and yes, I wanted them all and yes, I intend on keeping them all. There, now you know.

See you soon, when I’ve counted all my children! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Hero Arts Challenge & Dense Baker’ing! Thankyou Card & Horrible Quizzes

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  August 18, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I think the same as you with minty fresh lol! Lovely card … definitely ‘signals’ minty fresh … and I think its great you have a big family … I’d have loved that … Happy Saturday to you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Karen B.  |  August 18, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    The punch of red in just the right spots really make this card shine! I love the clean and simple card too1

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. veronica  |  August 18, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Love this clean and fresh card, it reminds me of the toothpaste as well.
    Know just what you mean about the children, I have four sons and when they were small people would ask me if they were all mine. I often wanted to ask “who’s do you think they are”: but refrained.
    So good to hear that you enjoy your family and long may you continue to do so.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Marlena M  |  August 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    You are funny. 😉 I have three girls and get the “Wow~you’ve got your hands full” comment. I can relate with the doctor’s office~I have to sweet talk the doctor into taking in more than 2 at a time (we live an hour away). I don’t think I could get away with 5! I love your sweet card ~ all those hearts ~ and minty fresh!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Martina  |  August 18, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Love your comments on your `big` family. My best friend has 5. I only have 3, but when we got together it was a `party`as well. Throw in our other friends and family with their bigger than normal broods (2 kidlets being the supposed normal) and it was quite noisy and loads of fun. They were so busy entertaining each other no one had time to fight and tattle on each other. Those were great times and great memories. I can also relate to children not looking like their mother as none of mine look like me. My middle daughter looks like she belongs with one of my brothers family as her features and colouring resemble her cousins (blond), while her sisters have their fathers colouring which is darker. I`m a ginger and the only one in my family.
    Have an awesome day Keren. I love your blog posts.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Lalo  |  August 18, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    OH LOVELY…I (((heart))) this card…LOL!!! and Hahaha…A party wherever you go, I feel you! I maybe one shy with your five but It’s always a totally party everywhere…LOL. Sometimes a screaming, fighting party but one none the less 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. tsurutadesigns  |  August 19, 2012 at 5:15 am

    I just love stopping by…like reading about ‘minty’…LOL….your card is super sweet with the hearts. 5 kids…I have 2 and bow down to you…

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Vicki  |  August 22, 2012 at 9:16 am

    You sure you didn’t pinch any along the way?…lol We are a family of 4 girls and I never thought anything of it when I was younger but now, I’d be sectioned if I had 4 children….lol just about cope with 2 😉

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Cindy E  |  August 28, 2012 at 6:06 am

    I love your card no matter how many kiddo’s you have gotta loe them to…lol

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Helen F.  |  September 3, 2012 at 1:29 am

    HaHa! Funny post. I love how your card came together, Keren. It’s a CAS minty masterpiece 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Cath  |  September 4, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Minty Fresh Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


