Stitched Card & Gross Hoovering!!

August 15, 2012 at 10:19 am 7 comments

20120815-093129.jpg
Good morning! It’s such a beautiful day- or was when I first started this post. This card is linked up to the Papertrey Ink ‘Make it Monday‘ challenge . The challenge was to incorporate stitching into your card. I don’t have much Papertrey stuff but I love stitching and don’t do much on my cards usually.

20120815-093741.jpg
Here’s a close-up. I’ve used different sized back stitching and French Knots on the spotty red cup.
I’ve tried to use the little citrus slices as a scalloped border and raised a few of the cups up with 3D foam pads. I actually cut the birthday wishes stamp in half so I could mount the ‘Birthday’ over the ‘wishes’. Don’t be afraid to do this with your clear stamps- the beauty of clear stamps is that you can position them so easily, so having it in two bits means its more flexible a sentiment.

Yesterday I was so tired- I stayed at home and cleaned. Just couldn’t quite make the beach trip I’d planned. Our room got a very overdue clean. In light of the fact I am no Fly Lady or clean buster- I do still try and do some cleaning! The Hoover was getting over-full so I needed to empty it. I wasn’t quite prepared for what I found. It’s a Dyson-( a pretty ancient one) and you can see all the fluff and stuff that you remove. At the bottom of the container was a peculiar brown gunge and a particularly nasty smell. For a moment I couldn’t quite work out what it could be. I then remembered asking the kidwhoownsthehamster to clean out her cage ( umm- it’s the hamster who has a cage NOT my child! Just to be clear!!!). Unfortunately this hamster is one who kicks everything out of their cage. Obviously it’s not very nice walking into a bedroom and seeing lots of hamster droppings and I’d asked her to clean them up. So- I realised that the melted brown gunk was in fact molten droppings. I’d vacuumed so much that the temperature inside the dust collection cylinder had got so hot and caused the issue. Aside from retching, I then had to clean out the entire nasty mess. I am also quite sensitive to dust, so am profusely sneezing as I’m doing it. It is now a rule written in stone- that all droppings are cleaned up with a dustpan and brush! On the plus side, my Dyson is so clean that you could practically eat out of it!!Those sort of days make you decide to do less cleaning no more!!

Better go- I’ve got to find something fun to do on a now dull and dreary day. See you when I’ve hidden my Hoover away xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Birthday Card & Chocolate Orange Curd Recipe! Hero Arts Challenge & Dense Baker’ing!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ros crawford  |  August 15, 2012 at 10:40 am

    What a terrific card … I just love the stitching detail although you pics don’t enlarge … and the dyson … Ewwww! I was just eating some toast!! Thanks Keren … Enjoy your day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ~amy~  |  August 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    lovelovelove your card…..the stacked tea cups and the wonderful stitching…pure perfection.

    Okay, you had me scared about the goo you found…..ick.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy Penir  |  August 15, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Oh my! I had to read to the end to make sure it wasn’t the hamster in there!
    Love every detail of your card. Colors, citrus slices, sweet stitching.
    Fabulous layout!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Alex  |  August 16, 2012 at 12:14 am

    I hope you do get to plan your beach trip soon! I love this card, the stacking is brilliant and I love the stitching. I love using Kraft cardstock on cards, so this immediately caught my eye! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Helen F.  |  August 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Keren, your card is just as sweet as can be…love the pretty knots and stitching on the (tea?) cups!
    PS: sorry about your poor Dyson though

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Mendi Yoshikawa  |  August 16, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    This is so fun! I love all the teacups stacked on each other with the unique details you stitched on each cup. That little touch of citrus slices at the top is also a great touch! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Joy Indrelie  |  August 18, 2012 at 2:52 am

    Super cute! I love the detailed stitches!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


