Birthday Card & Chocolate Orange Curd Recipe!

August 13, 2012 at 2:33 pm 7 comments

20120813-141723.jpg

I’ve been feeling really encouraged lately.
First email from myscrapbookart to say they’d featured a card on their blog, then I got news I’d won a challenge and a prize with Quick Cards and then I’ve also got to create something for a manufacturer but I can’t say any more right now.
For those that want to know, I’m in the Issue 101 Simply Cards and Papercraft and the Crafts Beautiful Christmas special which should be out in September.
This card is for one of my favourite friends- hope you don’t mind more Simple Stories papers- they’re just plain ‘ole happy! The stamp is from Hero Arts and background paper is from Pebbles.
She’s also getting these

20120813-142116.jpg
The ‘orange curd’ is made by adapting the lemon curd recipe that I’ve posted about before. You just swap in the same quantity of any other juice. I’ve done gooseberry, blackberry etc. just heat up the fruit if it’s not a citrus fruit, push through a sieve and use the juice/pulp in the recipe. I’d picked up some cheap mandarins so used those.
Steve had come home with some melted chocolate. Part of his marketing recently has used chocolate oranges and Lindt orange chocolates. With all the heat they’d gotten a little melty- Steve asked how I could use them. Well I immediately thought of chocolate orange curd as I was making orange curd at that point. I scoured the Internet for a recipe and Nothing. No-one apart from the manufacturers has posted anything- so, I experimented.
I melted roughly 100g of Lindt orange truffles and set them aside whilst I quick made the orange curd. I added them both together once the curd was thickened and chocolate still melted. Mix together quickly and pour into warmed jars and voila. But do keep it in the fridge. It’s really really yummy. You could easily substitute any chocolate-
the 100g seems to be perfect. The kids have tried it on toast but I think it would lovely as an ice-cream sauce and equally nice as a spreadable icing on some cupcakes- maybe with a bit of icing sugar to make it more stable.

20120813-143337.jpg
Well- better go.. Kids to look after. See you when I’ve stopped sniffing- this hay fever just won’t shift!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Red, Yellow, Green Card & It’s Friday! Stitched Card & Gross Hoovering!!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  August 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Sounds yummy I must say … and your card is delightful once again … Many congrats on your brilliant achievements too!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Lalo  |  August 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    LOOKs and sounds just YUMMY!!! Very pretty card and Congrats on all the good news too!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  August 14, 2012 at 11:54 am

    congrats on the pubs! love your bannerific card! Oohhh…thanks for the recipe!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. alicecarman  |  August 14, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Super cute! I love that paper by Simple Stories.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly Griglione  |  August 15, 2012 at 2:55 am

    So excited for all your card-making success (and BIG congrats on your Technique Tuesday win!) Love all the bits you’ve incorporated on this card, and the colors!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Sue Brannan  |  August 15, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Congratulations and so much inspiration Keren….Don’t know where to start!! I really must have a go at scrapbooking. Do you use 12 x 12 papers or can you suggest what to use for starters – perhaps a recipe to start me off…lol !!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Angela Branon  |  August 17, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Love this card. You really have a way putting all those elements together. It takes a designer eye to get it so perfectly right.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


