Framed Layout & Washing Clothes

August 6, 2012 at 12:16 pm 9 comments

20120806-091405.jpg
A layout for you today! I’m back into doing some scrapbooking- mostly due to this scrapbooking site- CSI: Color, Stories, Inspiration Go and have a look- there’s a great gallery. If you want an invite, email me and I’ll send you a link email. Each week they have a new challenge and you have to include a selection of elements and they also provide free digital Printables that I’ve included on this page. You can see the frames, the ‘sweet’ part of the title, the hinge and some of the ‘ribbon type banners’.

20120806-115809.jpg
I started to try and size my photos perfectly to fit the frames and as I was overlaying the frames- I preferred the way they looked. So that style morphed. They also create printable papers- I printed some of the checked paper onto thick vellum to add a different texture.

20120806-120000.jpg
The ‘bricks’ were also part of the printable hoard and I chopped them up and spaced them slightly to make them a bit more realistic. It was only whilst doing that I realised that the photo of me had a backdrop of bricks too. Coincidental!! Id love to say I planned it all that way- but then I’d not be very truthful. A little trick with scrapbooking is if you’re wanting to combine photos that don’t match colour-wise, just print them black and white. My picture of the roses fitted the colour brief perfectly so they stayed in colour. The contrast of the colour and black and white adds something to the page too.

Today I’m sorting out one of the teenagers rooms. It feels quite like a conquering process! I rarely go in and sort- I’ve learned that there are some battles not worth fighting. If they want to live in abject filth- then that’s their prerogative. They’re pretty good at sending down their own washing. Well they have to. Part of their transition to adulthood in our house goes something like this- ‘if you don’t bring your clothes down, they won’t get washed. If you don’t bring them down then you’d better wash them yourself!’
Sounds harsh? Well, it works really smoothly. They’ve learned the hard way once or twice and since then- the clothes come down weekly. After all, one day, I won’t be there to bug them and I want them to leave home with a sense of how to live with some semblance of order.
I saw someones FB status recently about how they felt sad because their child had left home. It’s going to come around quicker for us than we imagine. I know one day the house will be silent(ish). No squabbles, no teasing, tears, mess or mammoth washing. Will I miss it – yes of course ( maybe not all of it!!).
See you when I’ve managed to escape from tidying the house xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Flower Thankyou & Treasure Hunting Moxie Fab Tuesday Trigger & Returnees!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  August 6, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    what a gorgeous layout…love what you’ve done.

    quiet household…I’m not looking forward to that. I have 2 teenagers and one will be headed to college in 2013…that’s going to be tough for me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  August 6, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    This is so stunning … I just love it!! Every little bit!
    I am fortunate to still have my son around and I love him to bits … but believe me … I miss having the little boy to hold and hug …
    Have a great day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Carole Waechtler  |  August 6, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    What a great layout, I love it! Thanks for the link to the CSI site too, I’m off for a look around. Good luck with the clearing out…….kids need to learn to clear out, chuck out (give to charity) and take care of their stuff! No one told me to teach mine about that, I wish they had! Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Glenda J  |  August 6, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Absolutely lovely. The frames are a brilliant idea.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Lalo  |  August 6, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I’ve been thinking a lot about scrapbook too!!! Got to check out that site and good thing you didn’t crop the photos…they look so good like that!!! Hay I miss my kids and they’re just at school. What I’m I going to do with myself when they are all gone?

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. dahlhouse designs  |  August 7, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Wow, this is a beautiful layout. I love all the little frames.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Helen F.  |  August 7, 2012 at 3:38 am

    Stunning layout, Keren…love how you framed the photos~they look so artsy that way!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. alicecarman  |  August 7, 2012 at 6:31 am

    This is gorgeous Karen!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Sue Brannan  |  August 7, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Love this Keren particulalry the splash of refined colour from the roses, can you send me a link please. Leaving home…I had mine at home for quite a while (mid to late 20’s!) so we were ready for the transition and loved the processes they have gone through since then, going full circle and producing six gorgeous grandchildren who now fill our house with joy and laughter and washing and toys and ….but now it doesn’t matter we love it all x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


