Flower Thankyou & Treasure Hunting

August 4, 2012 at 8:51 am 6 comments

20120804-075416.jpg
You’re not upside down- those flowers are indeed hanging from their stems! It was one of the those ‘something from a mistake moments’! I’d stamped the chevrons on the card base with a Hero Arts stamp using stamping markers to match the colours of the flower chipboard piece. One of the ends of the stamp ends with a shortened chevron and I’d stamped it not realising that fact and I wanted some white space at the bottom. I added the strip of Fancy Pants orange paper to slightly cover it and then arranged the fancy Pants chipboard piece over the top. The only problem was that by putting the white space at the bottom, the card was then opening backwards. Never a good solution. Part of me thought ‘oh who will know, it’s only a photo and if I send it, the person won’t mind’. Then my inner perfectionist kicked in and said it was utterly ridiculous that I’d make a back to front card. So I turned it upside down.
Somehow I managed to dissuade the perfectionist part from getting too upset that the flowers were hanging and settled on the ‘these are ready for drying’ just like I’ve sometimes dried blooms. Anyhow- it’s different-a little quirky, but I like it!!

I’m a little tired today after a mammoth walk around Manchester. Our costcutting family days out continue and although it cost to actually get there ( reduced by half thanks to a Family and Friends Railcard which we got free thanks to Tesco Clubcard ). I found an app on my phone ( free, of course) or you can go to http://www.treasuretrails.co.uk and there are a variety of trails. Luckily ours (& quite a lot ) was free but the rest are £5.99. It’s a pretty good price for a day out.
It was hard work- we really had to think and it was fun having the kids work together. Not being to able to read does impede your progress and little Will wasn’t able to fully participate ( further impacted by a sore arm that he’d scraped whilst eating strawberries and jumping off a concrete step.
We learned a lot about Manchester ( although due to my awful brain retention I couldn’t possibly remember most of it ). We went around the canal and locks and watched a longboat. The hunt had pictorial clues on my phone and were really well thought out. The only down side was that sometimes the trail explained the direction ( stand with your back to … And go right) and sometimes they didn’t which led to quite a bit of confusion but we backtracked and eventually found the clue ( ably assisted by Google telling us where a particular building actually was when two locals had never heard of it).

20120804-085057.jpg
Today I’m chilling. Kiddo entertainment takes it toll eventually and as I’ve another birthday to prep for tomorrow I need to reserve some strength!
See you after I’ve baked a-nother Birthday cake!! Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Thankyou Bunting & A Dead Battery Framed Layout & Washing Clothes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  August 4, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Your cards are always unique … that’s what I love about them … Glad you had another fun day …

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  August 4, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    That’s the beauty of card-making! You never know what you end up with…sometimes! I like the hanging upside down flowers! The gorgeous Chevron background compliment it nicely! If you didn’t share your creative process, I would have thought they were hung upside down on purpose! Enjoy and relax, my friend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  August 4, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    LOL….chuckling reading about your card making process…I love your card:)

    Pssst…I may have posted a card recently that I made upside down and didn’t realize it until I photog’d it for my blog:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Mona Pendleton  |  August 4, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Super cute card! Love the Chevron patterned background!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Lalo  |  August 5, 2012 at 9:55 am

    OH no you went on another outdoors adventure…lol. Best mom ever!!! Totally love the card too. The hanging flowers are fab and matching the colors with the chevrons are fab too!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. alicecarman  |  August 6, 2012 at 5:17 am

    Super duper cute!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


