Making the Sentiment Sing & Treasure Hunt

July 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm 6 comments

20120724-173756.jpg

Hi again! Posting this little card that was super-quick to make and makes a feature of an unsung-crafting-staple. I love using sentiment stamps but they rarely get to steal the show do they?! I randomly picked 3 ink pads and fortunately they worked together! I quite like this combo. Having clear stamps makes the lining up super simple too.
The cute rub-on is from my large but un-used Fancy Pants stash- I’m still hoarding it a little for a rainy day!

To answer some of your question from yesterday’s post, a tunnel card is how you’d describe the card if you’d laid it down flat! The easy way to make them is for example- two 5 6/8′ square pieces of card. Score at 3/8, 6/8, 5, 5 3/8. Fold them from the left side- valley fold, mountain fold, mountain fold and valley fold. Do the same to both pieces. Glue the small end bits before the folds together and push the glued parts inwards slightly. You’re left with a standalone card that will flatten easily but spring back when removed from an envelope.
Having googled etc- it seems that lots of people call tunnels different things. I’ll try and do a simple tutorial if you can’t work it out from those instructions.

Well this weekend I was in charge of surprising a green haired fairy, a nun, an archer, pirate-ess, reindeer, pig and ladybird! All in the name of one of my olders birthdays!! I had to create a treasure hunt around Liverpool that also involved challenges, cryptic clues and various photo opportunities. The more bizarre ranged from ‘snapping’ your team whilst they saluted people coming out of Superdrug, getting a picture ‘planking’ somewhere fun and lots more. We ended with a picnic and she wanted to make her Birthday cake ( which was one less job for me!!) and then they got a little cute box with a nail varnish in and a topper-bag of sweets. The victors got an Olympic chocolate medal and a mug! Here’s the birthday girl ( who will probably kill me for posting it!!)

20120724-161827.jpg

Will have to go- the washing is calling me ( I wish it would be quiet sometimes!!) Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Tunnel 3D card Circle Simple Card & Holidays!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet Williams  |  July 24, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Hi Keren,

    It’s lovely to see your happy face! So beautiful! This card really shouts out HAPPY BIRTHDAY, doesn’t it? The buttons are really icing on the cake! Have a lovely summer!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  July 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Hey Keren, I love how you used the sentiment stamps. I find that I don’t use them in multiples often enough. Thanks for sharing your creation! The party that you organized sounds like a ton of work, but you obviously makes it so fun and a success! Your daughter is so pretty! Things we do for our little ones, huh? I am sure the Olympic fever is reaching Liverpool and all of UK. I’m excited to see the events unfold πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Lalo  |  July 24, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I wasn’t the only one lost in the tunnel…lol! Thanks for the let know πŸ™‚ O to today’s card… Sentiments do get looked over and you really gave them a show here. I love how the colors came together. Hay and I think I’ll have you plan my next party, sounds like a blast!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. AngelJem  |  July 25, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Love the card… simple but effective, my favourite style.
    And I shall have to keep S away from your blog. That sounds just like her sort of party…. How did you organise it all? Any ideas gratefully received!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  July 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Happy birthday to you very grown up girl … I just don’t know where you get your energy or ideas from … but it sounds like you all had a great day … love the card too … Your stamping is terrific … lined up perfectly … not sure I could do that! xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly Griglione  |  July 29, 2012 at 6:51 am

    What a cool color combo!!! Love how your sentiments are the star. And what a fun party too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,447 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


