‘Man’ card & Big Birthdays

July 14, 2012 at 3:11 pm 5 comments

20120714-145810.jpg

I’m posting this card because today its Steve’s Birthday. Whilst this isn’t his card- I’ll post that another time, I thought it was appropriate. It’s a big milestone Birthday- the one I’m not looking forward to either!
This is using those cogs again- you can do so much with this one stamp. I’ve just used lots of brads left over from different projects and computer generated the sentiment using the American Typewriter font ( my fave at the moment).
So far, his Birthday has been low- key and it’s going to stay that way. He’s not a ‘party’ man. He’d have died if I’d have thrown him a surprise ‘do’, so we tried to make it personal for him. He did get a lie-in, that is, until the kids could contain themselves no longer!- 9:00am is pretty respectable don’t you think?!
After a chilled breakfast and opening his presents we’re going for a walk.
For his presents we went down the ‘retro’ theme. We found lots of things that he’d had during his childhood– particularly certain sweets that have been re- released. Like Dib Dabs, Black Jacks, Refreshers, Fruit Salads and Poppets! Remember all those?! I made him some ‘Caramac’ biscuits ( digestives with melted Caramac on just like his Mum used to make!) and changed it up a bit with HobNobs as the base biscuit. We made a big frame with lots of photos of the kids through different ages and stages and I even managed a tiny one with me on!!
Thanks to Tesco Clubcard, he’s also got a flight in a Cessna airplane to look forward to.
Tonight I think it will be a movie and he wants to go out for a meal soon too. His Birthday, his way. And so he should- he really deserves a lovely day.

Be back soon, when I’ve cleared away all the wrapping paper! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Birthday Chandelier & Noisy Kids! Teacher Jewellery Gift & Sock Monkeys

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia Lu  |  July 14, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Happy 40th birthday to Steve! I absolutely love your card, Karen!! It’s so perfect for a special guy! And yes, having a low-key party is a good thing if that’s what a birthday boy wants! My hubby is another who didn’t like surprise party!! Enjoy and celebrate!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Virginia Lu  |  July 14, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      correction:….My hubby is another who didn’t and still DOESN’T like surprise party (LOL).

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  July 14, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    What a magnificent card…love the pops of color and the bumpiness:) Happy birthday to your hubby….40? meh, it’s the new 30!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  July 14, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Happy birthday to Steve … and I remember all those sweets and more … well I’m a little older … those gifts sound so good … especially the biscuits … I love Caramac! I also love your card … your use of those cogs is genius … not a grungy ‘dark’ card but a cleverly executed delightful card … have a lovely evening … ♥♥♥

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. alicecarman  |  July 17, 2012 at 3:49 am

    This is adorable.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


