Birthday Chandelier & Noisy Kids!

July 11, 2012 at 11:40 am 6 comments

20120711-112046.jpg

Hi there! This a card of two halves! Both main elements have ended up on the same base but I think they’d be better separate. Not dissimilar to two of my kids who share a room and would get on much better if they didn’t!
Anyhow- the chandelier is stamped on acetate using Flitter-glu and then I’ve used gold flakes to give the effect.

20120711-112324.jpg
It doesn’t really look very stamped but it’s another great technique to use with your stamps. I’m also linking this to the Moxie Fab World Birthday card challenge where stamping has to be the main focus. Please don’t peer too rudely at my seriously dodgy watermark stamping. It was one of those occasions where I couldn’t be bothered to start again. Bad- I know! By watermark, I mean using the Versamark pad directly on the car which gives a slightly darker colour than the card and is a great way to get tone on tone style but without having every single colour ink to match your cardstock colour. The chandelier is from a gorgeous die and stamp set from Hero Arts. I tried the die on acetate and it struggled a little but I just the remaining bits with scissors. It’s perfect with and paper- and acetate can be a little awkward with dies sometimes.

Well, I’ve been getting told off- again. And the place of reprimand was Aldi! Why oh why?!! Do you know, I can be doing absolutely nothing and still get into trouble! Yesterday I took Will to get the weekly shop. To be fair, he wasn’t being particularly rambunctious ( love that word!) – just happy and making a few pleasant noises. He’s 4- they don’t do silence too well- and please, it’s not like we were in a library.
An older man looked at Will and said to me ‘did you teach him to make noises like that?’. I smiled, although was unsure whether he was being friendly. Hindsight would’ve enabled me to respond ‘oh yes, we do 15 minutes practice every morning and afternoon with a half and hour session at the weekend!’.
He then muttered very loudly ‘there’s enough noise in this world without screaming kids’.
Really? I was too flabbergasted to reply. Goodness me, I really hope I never get to be quite that frustrated by little people’s happiness.
I bumped into a friend just as he was muttering at me and I told her I’d just been moaned at- she replied rather exaggeratedly ‘William, I love all those noises you’re making’!
I’m thankful for friends who restore the balance! Thanks Leisa!!
Maybe I should go around armed with ear plugs for all the passerby’s? Perhaps he needs an volume dimmer switch. He’ll be at school at the end of September and then I’ll miss every noise ( quiet or otherwise) he makes! Maybe at least then I’ll stop getting into trouble !

See you when I’ve finished hiding from the public! xx

PS-Thanks to Amy’s fab tip off,I’m also linking this to Paper Issues there’s an awesome give-away and all you have to do is link a card/project with some sort of transparency ! Go and link too!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Hot Air Balloon Card & Catching Up! ‘Man’ card & Big Birthdays

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  July 11, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    you are so patience when creating techniques which is why your cards are always lovely and unique … Love your chandelier … I think you should change your Aldi .. I can’t stand kids who just scream for the sake of it … But I know you … that would never be allowed … you just try and ignore the rudeness of some people and enjoy that little one whilst he is still at home … they grow too quickly and I so miss my ‘little’ boy … ♥♥♥

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  July 11, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Love your chandelier!! Lovely stamping on acetate! What great ideas you have! And do ignore that grumpy old man….He is missing out on life that there is HAPPY noises which should be encouraged! Poor grumpy old man! HUGS to you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. alicecarman  |  July 11, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    This is very elegant! So pretty.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Lalo  |  July 12, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Got to watch a tutorial on that stamping technique…looks amazing!!! *Don’t you just LOVE those happy little noise makers*

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  July 12, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    friends are thee best, eh? What a grouchy old man 😦

    I adore your card…I actually have quite the chandie collection and really must ink some of them up! Thanks for the inspiration!

    BTW, why don’t you link your oh-so-lovely card over at Paper Issues…it’s perfect for the “I can see Clearly Now” challenge and oy, did you see the prize?!

    http://paperissues.blogspot.com/2012/07/i-can-see-clearly.html

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Cath  |  July 24, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Birthday Card Challenge for Stamp It! Cards Week in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


