Independence Day card and a ‘funny’!

July 4, 2012 at 3:41 pm 7 comments

20120704-151829.jpg
Happy 4th to you all in the US-side of the globe! Though I’m not American (despite loving practically everything about America) I want to wish you all a really happy Independence Day.
This card was based on the ‘Stars and Stripes’. I was reading an article this morning about the flag and the way that it had been altered slightly over the years and now it’s as it is. Amazing history.
I didn’t have a mini star punch so tried to replicate the feel of it. Obviously accentuated the ‘free’ and added a computer generated ‘Happy 4th’. The striped letters were done using washi tape stuck onto white card and then die cut the letters . Hope you approve!!

20120704-153435.jpg

Next I have a funny story from my 4 year old who presently looks a lot like a monk in no small measure because a barber gave him a real ‘bowl’ cut on Saturday.
Please believe that this story is true and unembellished- I wrote it straight down after he said it and despite being extremely cheesy and worthy of a Readers Digest ‘we pay £25 for your story’, it is what he said!

(Will) ‘Mum- I don’t want to get married because I don’t want my breath to go away’.
(Me) ‘What do you mean?’
(Will) ‘Well when you get married your breath goes.’
(Me) ‘Who said that?’
(Will) ‘Daddy,-he said when you got married you took his breath away!!’

Cute huh?! Not sure I’m doing quite that to my hubby anymore but a funny story that I thought might make you smile.
Tonight we have a lovely couple babysitting for us- she is 100% American and I plan to show her our pared down inside the house version of S’mores! Think she may just roll over in horror!!

See you soon.. when I’ve managed to catch up with myself!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Swimming Scrapbook page & Boo to Cath Kidston Faux Tapes & Baking!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  July 4, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    That has to be one of the best cards I’ve ever seen … seriously I LOVE it! And how cute your little one is … what a lovely things to hear him say and 3 cheers for your hubby too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ~Amy~  |  July 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Love your crisp card!

    Now how sweet is that story?!!!! Love it

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia Lu  |  July 4, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    LOVE your Freedom card, Keren! Ingenious way of using the Washi Tape! And I am so glad that you wrote this precious little story down! I am sure some day a sweet girl will take Will’s breath away (haha, he just doesn’t know it yet!!)! It sure makes me smile! Happy 4th from Canada!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Lalo  |  July 6, 2012 at 3:14 am

    OKAY this is the best 4th of July card I EVER saw!!! and your story is just SWEET!!! I wonder what my man says about me to our kids???

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. DWD  |  July 8, 2012 at 3:47 am

    Clean and simple!!! It says it all. I love it!!! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. alicecarman  |  July 10, 2012 at 2:58 am

    I love this!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Chris R  |  July 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    fabulous card and cool way to use washi tape. — Your son’s comments are so precious. What a great husband you have that he would say that to his children. Makes me smile.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


