Swimming Scrapbook page & Boo to Cath Kidston

July 2, 2012 at 4:54 pm 6 comments

20120702-162821.jpg

Thought I’d post a page I did a few weeks back and had forgotten about. This is my older son with a very prized badge! You can nearly feel the pride from the photo can’t you. The water drops are American Crafts stamps stamped onto Pebbles paper. The other papers are Echo park and some old SU! stuff. Buttons are some random ones, some lovely big Pink Paislee Vintage Vogue ones.

What follows is a cautionary tale about buying summer shoes in the end of summer sale and mostly the sort of sad service you’ll encounter at Cath Kidston.

20120702-163515.jpg
You can see the shoes here.

20120702-163622.jpg
Apologies that they’re not rotated -I’m posting via my phone and there are limits to its awesomeness!
Anyhow. I bought these pretty Cath Kidston shoes at the end of the summer. Wore them a tiny bit- very little wear in fact and put them away because let’s face it, this British weather is pretty cool and wet. I got them out when there was a warm day ( yes, there was one!). I saw that the elastic on the buckle had frayed and worn- but not on both sides.
Having shopped often with them and with an email address beginning with ‘welovetolisten@cath…’ I was hoping they’d listen.. Oh and helping would have been nice too.
The first customer service rep was courteous. She said it was past the 6month warranty.
6 month warranty? I hadn’t worn them over 6 months because they were summer shoes.
I replied back and explained that I’d bought them at the end of the summer, you could see I’d hardly worn them and I quoted some of the Sale of Goods Act that they weren’t fit for purpose if they’d broken that easily. I said I could have understood it if they were cheap sandals but their normal selling price is just over £40. Good value? I think not.
I was then passed to a customer service leader who emailed and told me in no uncertain terms that it was passed the 6 month warranty, ignoring the points I’d made and was sorry their standards of service hadn’t met my expectation. Ermm.. Was my expectation high? Expensive sandals that you actually can wear? Too high?
I replied and said that they’d made it into a big deal- all it would have taken was to send me an equivalent- they’d got some on sale at the moment for half price. They weren’t interested. Didn’t reply back.
So please be warned- go to Tesco, go to TK Maxx, why not even the charity shop. Just know what you’re getting into when you buy supposedly quality goods. Cath Kidston – shame on you. I’ve now ceased to be a loyal customer and will spend my money somewhere else that actually might have decent customer service. Check the web- sadly I’m not the only one who has a quibble with them.
I told them I’d blog about them.
Rant over.
Laura Ashley- I’m coming back!

See you when I’ve tried to fix my poorly made Cath Kidston shoes!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Domino Card & Stampin’Up! Party Independence Day card and a ‘funny’!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alicecarman  |  July 2, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I love your take on monochromatic shades. Great job!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  July 2, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    What a cool page! Love the water droplets and the cute photo!! Sorry that the shoes issue with Cath Kidson didn’t work out! Too bad that they didn’t live up to the name’s expectation! I will stop shopping there myself!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. roscrawforduk@gmail.com  |  July 3, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Love love love your page … those droplets are genius! As for your pretty shoes … well I think Cath Kidson is well over priced … never have shopped there and never would … Hope your day is a good one my friend ♥♥♥

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Lalo  |  July 3, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Okay first off your page is amazing…your little man looks so happy!!! As for those shoes that’s craziness…They should have just sent you a replacement because now they don’t have a customer anymore. I HATE bad customer service and good for you for not using “bad words” because I sure do when I talk about my terrible service. Credit company problems here 😦

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. zoe tant  |  July 4, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Love the page and yes your son oozes pride and so he should. As for Cath Kidston thanks for the advice. I won’t be shopping there anymore either. Hope you are feeling better. hugs Zx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. ~amy~  |  July 4, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    super awesome layout…love the pops of blue!

    ooohhh….bad customer service is naughty. I’m a stickler on good service…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


